Daily Archives: December 17, 2011

Six Word Saturday

Six word Saturday button

It’s Saturday again so here we go.  If you would like to participate please either click on the picture above or click this link.

Bugger, Broken Bone, Confined to House

So here I am unable to drive and totally dependent upon the goodwill of others.  I can get around the house with reasonable ease but haven’t yet ventured outside.  So am beginning to feel a touch of Cabin Fever.

Thank goodness for a sense of humour in this situation.

  • Having a friend at my beck and call.  “Please, may I have a cup of coffee”  “Can you give me my book, my glasses, the pain killers etc”  Can’t carry anything with crutches.
  • Using my alternative means of getting around (other than my crutches)  – my old lady Zimmer frame.
  • Climbing up the three stairs to the bathroom on my backside (aka bum) and then getting onto my knees to pull myself up.
  • I am sure as the time goes by there will be many more humorous happenings and moments to remember.

And thank goodness for a sense of gratitude

  • It could have been so much worse – a fractured bone will heal but those people I meet regularly at the Hospice won’t.
  • My next door neighbour’s sister who was in a coma for months following an accident now requires 24-hour nursing care.  She will not heal.
  • Those others with degenerative diseases, physical or mental will not heal.

And so I say thank you for making me so physically fit normally that I can overcome this obstacle in my life and learn from it.

Thanks