Oh For An Original Thought

“All intelligent thoughts have already been thought;
what is necessary is only to try to think them again”
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, German Playwright, Poet, Novelist and Dramatist.  1749-1832

Sitting in front of a blank screen once again, I try to conjure up an original thought.  I read blogs from others and of course, get inspiration from them but an original thought of my own…..

I have read Val Erde’s post on what she plans to do with the rest of her life and that set me thinking.  In her poem The Summer Day Mary Oliver asks

Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life? “

Perhaps I could write a blog on that subject too.

Chris at Bridges Burning posted about the date November 22 and what it means to many of us.  She also introduced us to a book by Stephen King (one of my favourite authors) 22/11/63  11/22/63 (I have just had this error pointed out to me.  Thank you Sharon) and I have now reserved it from the library.  Reminded me of draft I started ages ago about where we I was on certain historic days during my long life.

Susan at Coming East wrote about what triggers memories.  I read this a couple of days ago and just this morning when opening a fresh container of milk I remember how my sister used to open the top for my father who was blind.  That took me back to the last time I saw him.  About 92, legally blind and living in his own apartment on his own.  What a great mentor and father he had been to me and my sisters throughout his life.

So..today…  Do you know Mary Oliver’s poetry?  One of my favourites is The Journey :

“One day you finally knew what you had to do,
and began, though the voices around you
kept shouting their bad advice–“

Read the rest of this poem here and the poem “The Summer Day” here.

So still without an original thought, or even an independent thought, I am bowing out of today’s post.

Waterfall

Dreamstime.com Free images

And now
As the water cascades and tumbles
over the rocks in it’s rush
down to join the river
so my thoughts tumble around my brain
looking for an outlet
or a safe place to stop

17 responses to “Oh For An Original Thought

  1. I have Stephen King’s new book, but have yet to read it due to trying to finish library books first. 🙂
    I know that in other countries, you put the date differently such as 22/11/63 for Nov. 22nd….but did they actually change the title for the release of this book in other countries? Because here in the U.S., it was released as 11/22/63 since we write our dates that way….Seeing as how you called it 22/11/63, it made me wonder if they actually changed the title to reflect the differences…

  2. I’ve always loved that Mary Oliver poem. I’ve been taking a break, too.

    • I discovered Mary Oliver quite by accident and quite recently. I have a book of her poems and I just dip into it every so often. How’s the novel coming along?

  3. Oh, I love that excerpt from the Journey. Thanks, Judith.

    • Mary Oliver has become a favourite since I discovered her a short time ago. I just love the way her mind works and how she can weave poetry around her thoughts. I wish I had even half her talent.

  4. I enjoy the things that come to your mind that you share with us. You have a lifetime of memories, and have seen so many things, from vantage points most of us have not had. Your blog is always a treat, and I come away with something new to think about, or poetry to appreciate. Thanks, Judith.

  5. Pingback: Leaders: How to Unlock the Power of Words « Linked 2 Leadership

  6. Hi Judith!

    Where you were on certain historic days, this sounds interesting. Why don’t you use your draft for a blog?

    I read at present a book about Goethe by John Armstrong. The title is:

    love, life, Goethe

    how to be happy in an imperfect world

    published by PENGUIN BOOKS.

    About the author:

    John Armstrong was born in Glasgow in 1966. Previously a research fellow and director of the Aesthetics Programme at the University of London, he is currently a research fellow in the philosophy of art at the University of Melbourne, Australia. He is author of Conditions of Love and The Secret Power of Beauty, both published by Penguin.

    Does this sound interesting to you? Maybe you can find the above book in your library?

    The picture of the waterfall is beautiful and the poem too. Thanks for sharing, Judith.

    Uta.

    • Thank you. I have searched online for the book at our public library but apparently it is not available. However, I shall go to the information desk the next time I am in the library and ask them if it is available here. 🙂

  7. I think everyone has days where nothing seems ‘fresh’. You managed to get a good post out of it, though!

  8. Original, not original – I like it. Enjoy the break.

  9. hello Judith, i nominated you for an award. you can check my page for it. thanks.

So what's on your mind?

