Daily Archives: November 1, 2011

A Walk Around Brooklyn

“My goal in life is to be as good a person as my dog already thinks I am. ”
Author Unknown

Lotte

I'm ready to go are you?

Yesterday was Halloween and I thought I would take Lotte for a  short walk around the streets of the suburb to see if we could see any witches, ghoulies or ghosties.  I remember the fun my children had on Halloween and wondered if children still had as much fun.

We started as usual walking down our steep street and immediately up this fairly steep path.  Very good for the legs.

Self sown offerings along the side of the path lifted my spirits because they survive on their own without any care from a human

We met this little sweetie with a painted face
all ready for trick or treat waiting for the time to pass

I wonder what’s at the end of this driveway

We saw children playing at the after school care centre; we saw children having fun and children who appeared to be quite upset. We saw harassed mothers and smiling mothers; we saw teenagers going about their business, some looking very bored.

We saw a Bichon Frise being walked by its owner
and we saw a very large dog out for a walk on its own

This pirate was being taken by his mother to various
friends’ houses for trick or treat.  He was very happy to
have his photo taken to use in my blog

The village was full of children of all ages dressed to make Halloween and trick or treat fun.

And then we arrived home.  Lotte fell onto her rug exhausted
after a long walk up and down the hills of this suburb.

These were the only trick or treaters who came to my door
last night.  Don’t they look good?


“When witches go riding,
and black cats are seen,
the moon laughs and whispers,
‘tis near Halloween.”
Author Unknown