Here Be Dragons

For some reason yesterday’s post  didn’t publish so it has now been published today.  And you are getting a second one today so that I can fulfill my commitment to myself to post a blog a day

“When you are describing,
A shape, or sound, or tint;
Don’t state the matter plainly,
But put it in a hint;
And learn to look at all things,
With a sort of mental squint.”
~Lewis Carroll

Let there be dragons or anything else your mind or imagination can conjure up. We do have total and absolute control over our imagination.  Others can make suggestions as in when reading a book and imagining the setting but only we can use our imagination as we see fit.

Those of you very clever bloggers who write fiction, use your imagination.  My blogging friend Carl uses his imagination and produces very clever cartoons with apt comments accompanying them.  Val Erde uses art, poetry and prose to show us her imaginings.  Other bloggers use photography to enhance what is in their imagination and some of us just write.

Taking the dragon as my symbol for the imagination I see that according to Wikipedia ” A dragon is a legendary creature, typically with serpentine or otherwise reptilian traits, that feature in the myths of many cultures.”  That being so, we are free to imagine the dragon in any form we please.

Will it be

Dragon statue

The Ljubljana “Dragon of Slovenia” via Wikipedia

or perhaps a fiery dragon

Fiery dragon

Google image

or even the Komodo dragon which isn’t imaginary but is  a type of monitor lizard.

Komod dragon

via Wikipedia

Looking at that photo one can understand how people thought this was a dragon.  Look at the forked tongue.  That tongue flicking in and out could perhaps  look like a small flame.

So what’s in your imagination today?

I am imagining a sunny, summer’s day with nothing more to do than sit and read a book.  Or maybe a walk in the park or along the beach with Lotte, my ever present companion, at my side.

I am imagining getting out my only just started novel and spending some time on it.  What will it feel like to go back to that?

Then my mind wanders to dinner and I imagine what I shall make to eat for tonight.

And the title of this blog?  Well it is commonly thought that English mapmakers formerly placed the phrase “here be dragons” at the edges of their known world.  Well here is the list of all known historical maps upon which these words appear – only one.  That is the Lenox Globe.  The globe was purchased in Paris in 1855 by Richard Hunt, who gave it to James Lenox, whose collection became part of the New York Public Library.

And no doubt you all know Dr Seuss’ ‘The thinks you can think”.  My children and grandchildren all loved and I still love  Dr S.  And now I have passed on the complete set to my friend’s grandson.

So – Book cover

“Oh the THINKS  you can think up if only you try!
If you try, you can think up a GUFF going by.
And you don’t have to stop.


21 responses to “Here Be Dragons

  1. What a beautiful post Judith and when I think imagination I think delicious..thoughts and dreams and stories! So you have inspired my mind when the clock is saying, ‘for goodness sake Chris go to sleep!’ But if I am going to be kept awake then I shall enjoy my imagination!

  2. Thanks Chris. I am glad you enjoyed it. The subject for the blog, complete with title, came to me last night after I had turned out the light and settled down to sleep. Had to get my notebook and write it down or else I would likely have forgotten it in the morning.
    I often wonder where these ideas come from.

  3. It’s funny, my parents read me just about every Dr. Seuss book out there from Green Eggs and Ham to One Fish Two Fish, but never Oh The Thinks You Can Think. I wonder why?

    When I hear “dragons” I automatically go to “Puff the Magic Dragon” song.

    • My children and their children loved Dr Seuss and we had a complete set of them twice. Had to buy new ones when the grandchildren came along. I can still quote large parts our of all and any of the books.

  4. “…learn to look at things with a mental squint” — I love that!

  5. ordinarygoodness

    I am enjoying “quoting” pieces of children’s books from my past and my children’s past to my grandson Judith.

    The latest is from a Margaret Wise Brown book “The train to Timbuctoo” with no dragons sadly but the wonderful lines: “Slam, bang grease the engine,
    Throw out the throttle and give it the gun.”

    Such drama and power in those words and appealing to this wee boy at 2 1/4 years of age.
    Dr Seuss is a favourite of ours too:-)
    Lynley

  6. Enjoy him Lynley, They do grow up so quickly.
    Judith 🙂

  7. Anything with a forked tongue is quite scary to me… That komodo looks happy though. 😉

  8. Carroll’s quote goes along with what I’ve been learning about writing, showing vs. telling. I need to post that near my desk and apply it. I’m working on my imagination–I just imagined my housework done, now I’m going to go write! Thanks for the inspiration.

  9. Today I am imagining a cool day with a gentle, steady rainfall being soaked up by the parched earth.

    Wonderful and fun post. I’ve always been a fan of dragons. 🙂

  10. Thanks for the link, Judith – sorry I’m a bit late seeing it!
    I love Welsh dragons, my husband loves Chinese ones! As for the Komodo dragons, they are apparently quite vicious, I’m glad we haven’t any here!

    What am I imagining now? That I’ve still got hours left to read and read and read, rather than go to bed. It’s 2.04 am now…!

  11. Wow – you really are a night bird Val. But the great thing about being retired is that we don’t have to get up until we are ready to do so.

  12. It’s amazing what our minds and imagination can do but its your words that breathes a sense of realism and adventure to the story.

  13. Thanks Judith for pointing me in the direction of your dragon post….has inspired me to write some more dragon stuff..I’ve got a great dragon book which I highly recommend called ‘Dragons..Myth and Legend’ by Jonathan Evans.

  14. Pingback: Oh For An Original Thought | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

So what's on your mind?

