Saturday Again

Six word Saturday button

It’s Saturday again so here we go.  If you would like to participate please either click on the picture above or click this link.

Saturday afternoon ironing someone else’s sheets

My second favorite household chore is ironing.
My first being hitting my head on the top bunk bed
until I faint.  ~Erma Bombeck

I have a hard and fast rule that sheets that are bought by me for use in this house MUST NOT NEED IRONING.  So what am I doing on this summer, Saturday afternoon? Ironing.

I have told you that one of the things I do is assist my real Estate Agent friend in her business.  Apart from selling RE she also manages investment apartments for her clients.  This week we have to prepare an apartment for lease and as she is away for a few days R & R in Sydney, Australia, I said I would do the basics for her.  This entailed making an inventory, making up the beds, setting up the bathroom etc.  Of course, it also meant that I had to check the state of  the bed linen and bathroom towels etc.

I can’t imagine what happened to the original bedlinen – it was gone, but in its place was several packets of new linen.  So this is what I have laundered and am ironing this afternoon.

At present the towels are rolling around in the tumble dryer and fortunately don’t need to be ironed.

Lotte

Do you have my lead?

So now I am off to type the inventory and then go for a walk -yes a walk after so long – with my small companion, Lotte.

But before I go, I would like to share this with you.  I just received it from an American friend who lives in Paris.  I am not envious of her choice of city in which to live – well, not very much. Click here to watch the video is of a one year old baby playing ping pong.  I hope you enjoy it too!

25 responses to “Saturday Again

  1. Oh, I’ve purchased what I thought would be wrinkle free linens…only to find a bunch of extremely wrinkled sheets when taken out of the dryer…but since it was home, I didn’t have to iron…happy that your sheets didn’t wrinkle . And that baby has a remarkable pingpong swing…cute baby…. : )

    Like

    • Well my own sheets don’t wrinkle much – I take them out of the dryer and fold them. Tried to do the same with these sheets but it didn’t work. Danged things had to be ironed.

      Like

  2. You are a martyr. A hero. Maybe a nutcase. Ironing sheets?

    Like

  3. Christine in Los Angeles

    What happened to Friday’s entry??
    God bless< Christine

    Like

  4. I have an iron.
    Not sure where it is.
    I never iron!!!

    Like

  5. Ironing … yuk !
    I taught my girls how to iron as soon as they were tall enough, then I taught them how to shop with not ironing in mind. 🙂

    Like

    • As Erma Bombeck says – My second favorite household chore is ironing.
      My first being hitting my head on the top bunk bed until I faint.
      This says it all for me. 🙂

      Like

  6. The video is adorable, Judith. Too cute.
    Ironing. Growing up, my chore was ironing my Dads handkerchiefs and folding them into a neat square. I didn’t dread that chore – but I do not enjoy ironing. I cannot recall the last time I did iron, in fact.
    Thankfully, my husband irons. He irons his slacks (trousers) every morning Mon-Fri. If – for some random and rare reason – I need something ironed – he will do it for me. Happily ever after. (smile)
    I hope you had a great Saturday, and I hope you and Lotte had a lovely walk.

    Like

    • Yes and really the ironing chore wasn’t nearly as bad as I have made it out to be. And we did enjoy our walk, thank you. Andy will be able to join us on these walks soon. 😀

      Like

  7. Ironing sheets!? Judith, you are a true friend. I’m not sure I’ve ever ironed a sheet.

    Like

  8. That is a funny video! Is that child’s arm and paddle tied on the other end of fishing line held by his mother? Ha ha!

    Dotte is soooo cute!

    I am trying to get back into the groove of blogging, and my first task was to finally respond to a Versatile Blogger Award that I received in December (gasp!). I’ve included your blog (I just typed blong – obvious have that ping pong video on the brain!) among my recipients! Don’t feel any obligation! I think of these awards as a fun way to recognize bloggers that I admire!

    http://bighappynothing.wordpress.com/2012/02/11/how-versatile/

    Like

  9. Oops! Another typo – I mean LOTTE!

    Like

  10. Know you enjoyed your walk. And I know Lotte was in heaven.

    Like

  11. I have never ironed sheets in my life…and I plan to keep it that way! If it can’t be “ironed” with a few spritzes from a water bottle, I don’t own it 🙂

    Love the Erma Bombeck quote, too. I needed a laugh tonight!

    Like

  12. Thanks Janna. I’m glad the quote made you laugh. And I laughed out loud at your comment to Carl about the Valentine’s card. Oh well he loves you and that’s what matters whether he spends $90, $9 or 90 cents.

    Like

  13. Lenore reminded me of those days ironing my dad’s hankies. If only everything was that easy to iron! Can’t imagine ironing sheets, though I have ironed yards of fabric–not a favorite. Glad you girls got out for a walk; and I love everything Erma!

    Like

  14. I love this post 🙂

    Like

  15. Pingback: It’s Here Again | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

Let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.