Daily Archives: September 3, 2011

Favourite things

Today I had no idea what to base my blog on and then it came to me – Here are a few of my favourite things.

Julie Andrews (and many artists since) sang of

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things
Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

But really none of these make my list of favourite things except perhaps doorbells that ring heralding the arrival of family and friends.

My list is made up of (among other things):

  • Bright spring mornings after a long, dreary winter – Spring starts here officially on September 1
  • And as it’s spring, the first daffodils pushing up through the earth and soon will be showing their yellow heads along with the crocuses and soon the roses will flower and we will know the winter is past.
  • My faithful companion Lotte, the Tibetan Spaniel
  • My four ever-growing, sturdy grandsons.  All with one exception are now taller than their Granma
  • My son and daughter and their spouses
  • The smell of home baking in my daughter-in-law’s or friends houses
  • My two sisters though on other continents and far apart we share an ongoing love and commitment to each other
  • The early morning birdsong heard here even in the middle of a busy city
  • The happy sound of children walking past on their way to school
  • My first cup of tea in the morning
  • My warm shower to start the day
  • My friends both in real life and in the blogosphere
  •  My coffee with friends each day
  • My time spent at the Hospice each week among people doing what they do best, helping the sick and dying, and doing it with charm, grace and cheerfulness
  • One piece of particularly good chocolate to savour
  • Fresh flowers around my house at any time of the year
  • cup of latte

    Latte from my favourite coffee shop

Daffoldils

Photo - Anthony Hall, Dreamstime

Lotte at the window

Watching the world go by

My list can go on and on but what about your favourite things?

 “The only difference between an extraordinary life and an ordinary one is the extraordinary pleasures you find in ordinary things.”
Veronique Vienne, American Editor, writer, commentator