Daily Archives: September 19, 2011

Kiss Your Frogs

“When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you until it seems that you cannot hold on for a minute longer, never give up then, for that  is just the place and time that the tide will turn.” Harriet Beecher Stowe, 1811 – 1896  American abolitionist and author.


Frog

I call my sloppy, rambling, unintelligible, boring writing my frogs.
These are the posts that go nowhere.  They are way to the left of no good; they are lopsided and they croak like an army of frogs on the lily pad.  Did you know a group of frogs is called an army?

This is the awful stuff.  It’s swampy and mucky and holds little promise for a good outcome.  I put these things aside and move on hopefully to something I can use.

And then sometimes when I go back to them days, weeks or even months later, a phrase or a sentence springs out at me and gains a life of its own.  Then I have the catalyst for a new post.

So today I encourage you to kiss those frogs. Don’t rubbish them or discard them.  You may be surprised if one or more does turn into a handsome prince and reward you with a great post.

Frog prince

Note – pictures from Microsoft free clipart.

“Take time to deliberate, but when the time for action arrives, stop thinking and go in”
Andrew Jackson, 1767 – 1845
the seventh President of the United States