I Hope You Dance

Today’s blog is very short and to the point.  I heard this song once and decided to adopt it as my mantra.  It says all that I believe and all that I wanted to share with my family, friends and life-coaching clients.  I hope you agree.

“I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat
But always keep that hunger
May you never take one single breath for granted
God forbid love ever leave you empty handed
I hope you still feel small
When you stand by the ocean
Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens
Promise me you’ll give faith a fighting chance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
I hope you dance
I hope you dance”

The version of the song that I really like is by  Leann Womack.  This young, country singer has so much soul in her voice – listen to it here.

I just love the words and the symbolism.  And how they speak to me and what they say.
“I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Living might mean taking chances
But they’re worth taking
Lovin’ might be a mistake
But it’s worth making
Don’t let some hell bent heart
Leave you bitter
When you come close to selling out
Reconsider
Give the heavens above
More than just a passing glance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
I hope you dance”
I used the tag line – If you get the choice to sit it out or dance; I hope you dance” as the close off in all the newsletters I used to send out to my life coaching clients.  I have this phrase as the screen saver on my computer and all the words of the song on the wall of my study. So as you can see I am hooked.
“I hope you still feel small
When you stand by the ocean
Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens
Promise me you’ll give faith a fighting chance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
Dance
I hope you dance
I hope you dance”
Music and Lyrics by Mark D. Sanders/Tia Sillers Copyright © 2000, Uni/Mca Nashville. All Rights Reserved.from the album, I Hope You Dance

Do you have a favorite song that speaks to you the way this one speaks to me?  Is it just the song or is the singer important to you and your song?  I really would love to hear from some of you.  Maybe that way we will all learn some new songs.


And I should like to thank the person that sent me this image of the dancing bears.  I think it just fits here as if it belongs.

Bears Dancing


One response to “I Hope You Dance

  1. Pingback: Waltzing Matilda | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

Let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.