Daily Archives: April 29, 2011

Another Wonder of Our World

I was recently sent a picture show of the  world’s largest single cave that was discovered in the heart of the jungle in Vietnam. Explorers have gone 4.5kms (2.8 miles) into the cave and are sure that they have not yet reached the end.

Vietnam caveCave in Vietnam

Click this link to see the picture show – HangSonDoongCavern.

Originally there were Seven Wonders of the World –

  • The Colossus of Rhodes
  • The Great Pyramid of Giza
  • The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • The Lighthouse of Alexandria
  • The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
  • The Statue of Zeus at Olympia
  • The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus

And The Seven Wonders of the Modern World –

  • Channel Tunnel
  • CN Tower
  • Empire State Building
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  •  Itaipu Dam
  • Netherlands North Sea Protection Works
  • Panama Canal

This surely must qualify as the Eighth Wonder of the World.

Cave in Vietnam

I am speechless


I remember a hundred lovely lakes, and recall the fragrant breath of pine and fir and cedar and poplar trees.  The trail has strung upon it, as upon a thread of silk, opalescent dawns and saffron sunsets.  It has given me blessed release from care and worry and the troubled thinking of our modern day.  It has been a return to the primitive and the peaceful.  Whenever the pressure of our complex city life thins my blood and benumbs my brain, I seek relief in the trail; and when I hear the coyote wailing to the yellow dawn, my cares fall from me – I am happy.  ~Hamlin Garland, 1860 – 1940. American author

Photos – National Geographic.