It’s Never Too Late

Vintage Red Book

I have just finished reading the novel Vintage Red by Michael Judge.

The introductory blurb says :  “Racy, blackly comic; laced with wit, both dry and expansive; wicked ear for dialogue; cuts through to the bone, exposing venality of church and state – just a sample of the praise that greeted the arrival of this impressive first novel.” and “An original new voice and a breathtaking achievement”.

The story tells the story of a property magnate who finds after his wife’s death that she lead a disturbing life that he knew nothing about.  Throughout the book we read about this other life and also about the husband’s domestic failings, his public amorality and his personal hypocrisy.

We learn how the wife meets a shy school teacher one afternoon and her life changes dramatically.  But because of her upbringing and Catholic religion, she will not leave her husband even though she has found a man to give her the love and affection withheld from her by her husband.

In many ways this is a story that has been told so many times already and there are no great surprises in it.

I am not sure that I would recommend it.  At times it dragged and I found the long passages that concentrated on the husband’s shoddy dealings both personally and professionally rather boring.

BUT the point of this blog is to say that this first novel was published when the author was eighty-three years old.  Since then he has had two further novels published to great acclaim.

We know that it is never too late to achieve what we want, and doesn’t this prove it?  So what would you really like to do that you have said ‘Oh well, it’s too late now” or “I’m far too old for that”.

I have blogged in the past about the members of the Young at Heart choir, i have mused on Chronology vs Biology and many of my posts dwell on what we can do whatever our age.

I have spoken about drawn your attention to people in their 80s and 90s achieving great feats of physical endurance; those elders who have achieved university degrees; those who have taken off to live in a different culture away from friends and family.

What have you been putting off because you thought you were too old?  Today really is the first day of the rest of our lives.  And we don’t know how many more we will have.  This was brought home to me when my husband died suddenly.

So start that novel, write your poem, your life story or whatever; book that parachute jump or deep-sea dive, call the travel agent and go and explore that different country.

sky diving at 92

Skydiving at 92? (Source: Faded Tribune)

Be bold and courageous. When you look back on your life, you’ll regret the things you didn’t do more than the ones you did.
H Jackson Brown jr, author of
Life’s Little Instruction Book

27 responses to “It’s Never Too Late

  1. The problem with “Live your dream” philosophy is money, well with me at least.
    It takes money to do some of these things. Not that I want to sky dive, but big bucks are needed. Most of us don’t have that kind of dough laying around.
    I need copious amounts to do what I want to do. And at the rate our economy is going, I’m not sure I’m ever going to get it. I sometimes feel we pay out more than we take in. What’s wrong with that picture?

    The book, like you said, is nothing new in our society. High rollers neglecting their wife, career comes first. We can read about that stuff in the papers under the “divorce” columns.

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment. Yes many things do need money as you say and that is unfortunate,but the idea that we are too old to try new things prevails in our ‘young is best’ society.

      Like

  2. Thats amazing. It just goes to show you can do something at any age. My sister has just biked 125 miles and she is sixty six so there you go. Well done on the award by the way. I love your Blog it’s soothing and sincere and refreshes me whenever I pop in, which is quite often

    Like

    • Thanks Peter for the comment about the blog. I do try to be sincere and even when I rant about something, it is a sincere rant:)
      Fantastic about your sister. Congratulations to her!

      Like

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    Inspirational post Judith 🙂 I’ll look back at this next time I complain of feeling old 🙂

    Like

  4. We do NOT stop living because we get old . . . we get old because we STOP LIVING.

    Seize the day!

    Like

  5. jacquelincangro

    Just the other day a student in my writing class said that she was in a hurry to get her story published because she was getting too old to wait around any more. I wish I’d had your post to direct her to.
    Age is a state of mind. 🙂

    Like

    • Isn’t it amazing how our concept of age and aging differs according to where we are in our life’s journey at the moment. I guess your young student will have to learn that she has many more years ahead of her. BTW I have assumed she is ‘young’. :0

      Like

  6. Wow! 83 when he got his first novel published! Gives me hope. So glad you posted this.

    Also, I am seriously behind the times. When did you change the title of your blog? I still thought it was growing younger each day. Where have I been! I need to change it on my blogroll.

    Like

    • Well it was your post about starting on your novel/book that brought this to mind, I didn’t change the title of my blog – what do you think it is?

      Like

      • Wow! Glad I was a small inspiration! I thought your title was Growing Younger Each Day, but I see it is I Choose How I Will Spend the Rest of My Life. I have it wrong on my blogroll, even though my link to you is correct.

        Like

  7. Thanks for reminding us that as long as we have breath, we can keep on living.

    Like

  8. A good reminder for all and very inspiring! 🙂

    Like

  9. Wow, this is truly inspiring, and cheered me up on a day I felt a bit old and past it (at the grand old age of not quite 38, I know, shoot me ;).
    Thanks for reminding to enjoy today. x

    Like

  10. This is fantastic! I truly needed to hear this today. I was just telling my husband today that I needed to learn to dream again. 🙂

    Like

  11. 83 and wrote 3 books? My deepest admiration for the author. I’ve seen younger people who won’t even try using their brain to think thus my respect for those who are intellectually gifted, for those who persevere, for those who seek excellence and constant yearning for knowledge. We need a new generation of young minds who know more than playing Wii or Angry Birds. My friend, just to let you know how I admire your writing…I can’t really say I’m an expert but your post moves me and that for me is important. Stay blessed always.

    Like

  12. And yes, I don’t want to miss anything too… Lets live life to the fullest… Celebrate happiness… Express love to our families till they glow in the warmth of our affection.

    Like

    • Thank you for the encouragement you always give me. Sometimes one wonders whether what we say makes sense to others.
      Yes this man is certainly impressive and encourages us all to strive for our goals whether big or small. 🙂

      Like

  13. Excellent post! The best part was finding out that the author was 83 and wrote two more successful books. You are right, we have no excuse. 🙂

    Like

  14. Pingback: Vintage Red Book – Books&morebooks2017

Let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.