Now That’s Interesting

Never say, “oops.”
Always say, “Ah, interesting.”
Author Unknown

A couple of days ago I posted on stupidity and fallacious frivolous claims  before the courts and the amount of damages awarded to those who sued.

Today I have been told by a fellow blogger – Linda Cassidy Lewis – that in fact these are bogus cases.  Click this link  to see these and other bogus cases.

So I apologise.  As with many others I assumed (made an ass of you and me) that these were true without taking the trouble to research them.  Lazy writing and lazy blogging.  I am surprised now that I didn’t research them to determine whether or not they were true.  If you are a regular reader you will know that I usually go to great lengths in researching whatever my mind happens to decide is a suitable subject for my blog.

I unreservedly apologise to you all for misleading you in this way.  But it was fun reading wasn’t it?

Oh and by the way, I have cancelled my plane ticket to the US.  Won’t be buying that Winnebago after all.

crying face

Dreamstime.com Free images

20 responses to “Now That’s Interesting

  1. Oh, Judith, I can’t tell you how many times I have fallen for bogus information. It’s not lazy. It’s trusting! Don’t change please. I enjoy knowing there is another “me” out there. And don’t cancel your U.S. trip. I will keep an eye out for that Winnebago.

    Like

    • Thanks Dor. I felt a bit of a fraud (although I do know that wasn’t Linda’s intention when she pointed out this fact to me). Keep looking for that Winnebago – I may yet win the lottery and land on your doorstep. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Judith. Thanks for this post. I started to research the cases myself and didn’t because I know how thoroughly you research before you write. I admit I didn’t like the “cases” you cited because they made us Americans look like serious “dumb a$$es.” I’m relieved to know they’re not true.

    Like

    • Hi Pat. These were not true but as Carl says, there are still many frivolous cases brought before the court. Very sad how some people don’t see these actions as fraudulent. 🙂

      Like

  3. Although particular cases mentioned may have been bogus you are not incorrect at all about the explosion of frivolous lawsuits in America. You need not be apologetic at all. We call these lawyers “ambulance chasers” .In Miami, Florida the suits against doctors has left us with a serious shortage of surgeons as they refuse to practice here. Suing doctors and their insurance companies is BIG business. I had to wait 5 days in the hospital to get a triple by-pass until a surgeon was available. Many doctors have resigned from practice to become expert witnesses to support the cases of the alleged agrieved party-make more money than practicing medicine.

    Like

    • Thanks Carl. It is a sad comment on the human race that we think (or some think) that suing for huge damages is the way to make mo9ney. For me, I shall continue to buy the weekly lottery ticket and as with most others, hope for a huge win.

      I had heard about ambulance chasers from the TV and of course Lincoln Lawyers – although the latter may just be the name that Michael Connolly used for his book. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

      Like

  4. Carl’s commentary is a sad one. There are a lot of frivolous cases, so these were believable. Glad to hear they are bogus, though. I did the same thing with a link on Facebook, and should have researched it first. Live and learn–for as long as we live. 🙂 Oh, I was SO looking forward to the Winnebago.

    Like

    • Thanks Patti. Well I have certainly learned now although it is a sad fact of life that we can no longer take things at face value. But I did enjoy writing that blog and so all was not in vain. 🙂

      Like

  5. Christine in Los Angeles

    Actually, here in So.Cal, a woman sued a drive-thru and won damages. She bought, coffee, and as she drove, she removed the lid to pour creamer. Well, guess what, at a traffic stop, the coffee splashed into her lap. Somehow, this was determined to be the fault of the drive-thru operator ???
    God bless, Christine in Sunny California

    Like

    • Hi Big sister and thanks for the comment. It’s sad that even though the cases cited may be bogus there are certainly many other frivolous claims before the courts in the US. We do not have the power to sue here in NZ. that has been taken over by a government controlled corporation – the Accident Compensation Corporation. So now huge payouts here. 🙂

      Like

  6. You mean they can print something on the interwebz that isn’t true? Wha???

    I am an insurance agent who specializes in medical malpractice, so I can tell you for a fact that Carl is right. The legal climate in a state or even a particular city or county within a state determines if companies will even sell coverage there. That has a direct effect on physicians’ practices.

    Like

  7. Isn’t it a sad state of affairs when the actions of a (relative) few can have this effect on so many. thanks for the comment Peg. 🙂

    Like

  8. Yes, I agree with Carl and Peg. Though I am not in medicine, in insurance or even in hot water. (smile) The gist of your Stupidity Reigns is – at the very least – based on fact. The fact being that frivolous lawsuits are rampant. Point. Set. Judith.

    Like

  9. Oh, dear. I am biting my lip, trying to figure out just how much my job is worth to me. Because I work defending companies from law suits just like the ones you mentioned. The two I mentioned in mine are true. You see the real ones on TV all the time.

    I would be a MUCH better party guest/blogger if only I hadn’t signed that DAMN confidentiality agreement.

    Like

  10. well darn, i was hoping you’d pick me up in that Winnebago while I was hitchhiking. hee hee.

    Like

    • All is not lost Joss. When I win the lottery this weekend the first thing I am doing is buying a ticket first class to the US and picking up a Winnebago. then I shall drive around meeting all my blogging friends, getting them all together for a great party!

      Like

  11. So no kitchen makeover for me? 😦

    Like

Let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.