A Family is a River

Some years ago, during the bleak months/years following the death of my dashing (now not so) young Scotsman, my daughter on behalf of her baby son, gave me a little book entitled 365 Reflections on Grandmothers.  This was meant to and succeeded in cheering me.

Today, when flicking through the book I came upon this quote:

“A family is a river;
some of it has passed on and
more is to come and nothing is still,
because we all move along day by day
toward our destination”.  Dolores Garcia

I don’t know who Dolores Garcia is – I Googled her name and came up with several – but whoever she is she has succinctly put the family into words. It is the kind of poetry that I would like to write.  In fact, I wish I had written it.

We know that family members move on – Mothers and fathers, brothers and sisters, husbands, wives, children all come into our family and make themselves part of it and are sorely missed when they move on.

In their place come more people to swell the numbers of the family.  Children marry and produce children of their own, who in turn marry and also produce children.

More people become part of our now extended family.  Through marriages, we acquire other relations, children, their siblings and families.

So nothing stays the same – nothing is still. Nor should we expect it to stay the same.  Change is inevitable as we move through our allotted time on earth.

If like me, you have these strong family ties they will keep you tethered and sane when all seems to be out of control.  Whether you see them on a regular basis, or only infrequently, you know that you can count on family members for support and succour comfort when needed.

 

 

 

 

Here is my attempt :

“Life like a river flows around us
and changes occur in the family formation;
Those we love move on and
in doing so leave huge gaps in the familiar structure.
Soon though, others come into the tight family unit;
Not to replace those who have moved on
but to bolster and fill the gaps and then
to take their own place in this entity we call family.”

Waterfall

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

….

26 responses to “A Family is a River

  1. Beautiful. Both. I think that describes family quite well!

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

    Like

  2. You wrote your own version beautifully, Judith. I like both, but I’m drawn more to the detail in yours.

    Like

  3. I love both poems. I cannot imagine having to go on without my beloved – I am sure it was rough. May the waters of the river that is family sustain you.

    Like

  4. A beautiful post Judith. You have captured the ebb and flow in the family unit and the changes that are inevitable.

    Like

  5. You summed up a family description quite well poetically, Judith.

    Like

  6. Both poems describe the fluidity and strength of family…..wonderfully.

    Like

  7. Lovely quote, and nice poem of your own Judith… I am blessed with a family I can count on as a safety net, pretty much always, and having my own family has always been something really important for me.
    You are right though, things flow and never stay the same, the geometry of our families keeps changing… It’s a peculiar thing when you think about it, how some people just go through our lives. x

    Like

    • WordPress must have been playing up when I responded to your comment several days ago. The response to your comment appears to have landed in the wrong place. What I said was – I am very new to writing poetry and so am a bit diffident about making it public. Thanks for the encouragement.

      I love the simile of family being a river – it really resonates. Your poem is lovely and thought-provoking!
      judithhb | January 26, 2012 at 10:13 am | Reply

      Thanks Pegoleg. As I said this poetry writing is a skill I am just trying out. I am glad you liked this effort. 🙂
      Elyse | January 25, 2012 at 1:54 pm | Reply

      Dear Judith,
      I think this will be a wonderful bit of comfort for someone close to me. Her mother, who passed away a long while ago now, was named Judith. So thanks. I know it will comfort her, as it did me.
      judithhb | January 26, 2012 at 10:16 am | Reply

      Oh Elyse I am honoured that you think this will comfort a friend. And the fact that her mother’s name was Judith also touches a place in my heart.

      I hope that she is coming to terms with the loss of her mother. We know that we never really get over that loss. Kind wishes winging to her and of course, to you, from the other side of the world. 🙂
      eof737 | January 30, 2012 at 11:12 pm | Reply

      Beautiful poem and post… Lovely! 🙂
      judithhb | February 3, 2012 at 1:15 pm | Reply

      Thanks Elizabeth. We are truly blessed if we have family members on whom we can count. 🙂
      Bridgesburning Chris King | February 2, 2012 at 6:55 am | Reply

      I love it Judith! We are a very close family constantly flowing!

      Friends around the world
      Locations of visitors to this page
      Blog Stats – Since March 1/11
      55,813 hits
      Join me

      Want to join me on my journey? Click here to subscribe

      Join 115 other followers

      Recent Posts
      Kangaroos
      Very Seductive
      All Gone!
      Now That’s Interesting
      A Family is a River
      Click on date to see that day’s memories
      January 2012 M T W T F S S
      « Dec
      1
      2 3 4 5 6 7 8
      9 10 11 12 13 14 15
      16 17 18 19 20 21 22
      23 24 25 26 27 28 29
      30 31
      Earlier posts
      Copyright
      Ezine Articles Platinum Author
      [Platinum author]
      Six word Saturday
      Hug Award
      Post a day
      Blogroll
      A New Day Dawns
      Art by Val Erde
      Bridges Burning
      Coming East
      Herding Cats in Hammiond River
      I know I made you smile
      It Just Dawned on Me
      Jacquelin Cangro
      Life in the Bogs
      Life With Three Boys
      Mirth and Motivation
      Monica’s Tangled Web
      My Quest
      Photographic Memories
      Rainy Day in May
      Sunday in the East House
      Sunshine in London
      Technicolor Day Dreams
      The Atkins: This Life of Ours
      The Chameleon’s Backbone
      The Good Greatsby
      The Idiot Speaketh
      The island traveler
      The Simple Life of a Country Man’s Wife
      Today I Think
      Winsomebella

      Recent Comments
      judithhb on A Family is a River
      judithhb on Kangaroos
      judithhb on Kangaroos
      judithhb on Kangaroos
      judithhb on Kangaroos

      Like

  8. Hi Judith – Thank you for your pingback to my blog post (and a year ago that sentence would not have made sense to me!). I really enjoyed reading your take on the family, and the beautiful poem – yes, a family is indeed like a river, and we are privileged to be part of that current and flow. So glad to meet you!

    Like

  9. I am very new to writing poetry and so am a bit diffident about making it public. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Like

  10. I love the simile of family being a river – it really resonates. Your poem is lovely and thought-provoking!

    Like

  11. Dear Judith,
    I think this will be a wonderful bit of comfort for someone close to me. Her mother, who passed away a long while ago now, was named Judith. So thanks. I know it will comfort her, as it did me.

    Like

    • Oh Elyse I am honoured that you think this will comfort a friend. And the fact that her mother’s name was Judith also touches a place in my heart.

      I hope that she is coming to terms with the loss of her mother. We know that we never really get over that loss. Kind wishes winging to her and of course, to you, from the other side of the world. 🙂

      Like

  12. Beautiful poem and post… Lovely! 🙂

    Like

  13. I love it Judith! We are a very close family constantly flowing!

    Like

Let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.