Sauntering on Sunday

Sauntering on Sunday

Chris has been busily writing thought provoking posts, while I have been just writing.

So to Sunday; a day for sauntering around.  Saunter – don’t you like that word? 

“I have met with but one or persons in the course of my life who understood the art of Walking,
that is, of taking walks — who had a genius, so to speak, for sauntering,
which word is beautifully derived “from idle people who roved about the country,
in the Middle Ages, and asked charity, under pretense of going a la Sainte Terre, to the Holy Land,
till the children exclaimed, “There goes a Sainte-Terrer,” a Saunterer, a Holy-Lander
David Henry Thoreau. American naturalist, essayist, and philosopher. 1817-1862 

I like Thoreau’s definition of saunter but sadly, all dictionaries and linguists are united in rejecting this notion, but it’s an appealing idea.

So today’s saunter.

I have just returned from brunch with my daughter and her two big, strapping, delightful sons.  They have both been in Wellington this past week as their other grandmother sadly died on the December 30.  After falling, a few days in hospital and a few days at home, she went to sleep one night and didn’t wake up. A shock to her two sons and grandchildren, but what a way to go! 

Of course, the brunch was a happy, cheerful hour or so in the company of three of my favourite people.  One grandson Drew the eldest, is constantly making fun of his Granma in the nicest possible way. We all laugh at his nonsense. He left us for a long walk back over the hills to our home.

Then Jae, the other son, accompanied me to a used bookshop where I purchased a copy of Doris Lessing’s The Golden Notebook.  This was not what I was looking for in the shop.  However, there was no copy of Marilyn French’s The Women’s Room and the store owner suggested I might like this instead.  The Women’s Room had a major impact on/in my life so many years ago and I really wanted to reread it to discover why.  Instead and in keeping with my determination to support local businesses, in particular book shops, I purchased and will read the Doris Lessing book and continue in my hunt for the other.

Then home again and the first post I read was from Debbie at Domermom.com.  A lovely post about a happy dog.  Of course, this led me directly to thoughts about Lotte my sadly missed, little Tibetan Spaniel.  She was my friend and companion for a short but happy time some years ago.

Then looking back to January 8, 2012 I note that I posted Dancing with Skeletons.  Here I mused about a Creative Writing Course (one of many) that I had attended many years before

One task we were given early in the course was to “Write about your Skeletons”.  We were told we all had them and if we could put them onto paper it would be a good place to start.  We were required to write them down, not type them into the computer.  The tutor reiterated the “known fact”  (well accepted fact) that transferring the words from your mind, through your hand to the page gave them power.

Note – Research has shown that hand-writing stimulates a bunch of cells at the base of the brain called the reticular activating system (RAS). The RAS acts as a filter for everything your brain needs to process, giving more importance to the stuff that you’re actively focusing on at the moment—the physical act of writing brings it to the forefront.

This was proven to me in the years that followed, particularly when wearing my Life Coach hat and when running my courses, always encouraging people to do Morning Pages.

Do  you know about Morning Pages? This is the act of writing first thing in the morning. Strictly consciousness writing any and all thoughts that come to mind. I discovered this in the book The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron.  It’s a very powerful tool to help you sort out what you want to do and then, how to do it.

And so now, after that long and rambling saunter, there is little else to say – although that’s not true.  I have much more to say, but for another day.

And yet another thought for today

If you don’t like the news, go out and make some of your own.” 
― Wes Nisker author, radio commentator, comedian,
and Buddhist meditation instructor.
1942 –

Waiting for the sun to drop so that the dry garden beds may be watered.

JB January 9, 2022

 

 

 

12 responses to “Sauntering on Sunday

  1. Pingback: Sauntering on Sunday | bridgesburning

  2. What a lovely garden site. Looks inspiring to write there. I liked doing morning pages when I did them. It was a good habit while I lasted. Consistency in habits is not a strength of mine!

    Like

    • Thanks Louis. It is a rather nice place to sit and look out at when trying to get something into this often blank mind. And I understand about consistency. Are used to be very good at it but not any more. Perhaps I should set a goal to consistently do morning pages every day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I always enjoy my walk. Though, to be honest, I sometimes have to force myself into the activity. Silly, yes?

    Like

  4. Thanks for the shout-out, Judith! I’m sorry you, too, have lost a dog. It’s almost unbearable how they warm their way into our hearts for such a short time, isn’t it? Sauntering is good (though only on sunny, pleasant days!). I love your garden — what a peaceful place to rest and meditate. One of these days, I’m going to try writing in the morning!

    Like

  5. It’s freezing here today, and I am dreading my walk! I wore so many layers going down the road yesterday, I could barely swing my arms…and it’s even colder today. I, too was very impressed with The Woman’s Room, way back in the 1970s. I don’t remember exactly why. I guess I should think about rereading it, too. Some things from that time period signal a beginning of a new way of thinking, that carries through to the present. Others just seem dated. The movie, Easy Rider falls into that second category. I wondered why so much fuss, when it was new!

    Like

  6. Cindyrickers. 8 celsius is 46 Fahrenheit. .

    Like

Let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.