Moving Forward

503887f1bc1635607556e4fd57c13d24

Today, I changed the header to my blog. Not because my heart became ready for the Architect to leave but because this is a New Year and time for new adventures (hopefully happier ones than last year).  I shall never forget the Architect.  Along with my Dashing Young Scotsman, he’ll always be part of the rest of my life. but as Mary Oliver says “I don’t want to end up simply having visited this world.”

So being a firm believer in the fact that no experience is ever wasted, I ask myself what did I learn from the major accident in 2016.  I learned that

  • One quickly finds out who are your true friends
  • And the real meaning of friendship
  • It’s alright to ask for help
  • How to ask for help and accept it graciously and gratefully
  • People/friends and family are only too willing to do anything they can to help
  • I don’t always have to be in charge
  • Others often have a better way of achieving something
  • It’s a real bonus to have so much time to read

And then a short 7 weeks after  I was proclaimed all healed by the fact that my driving licence was no longer suspended I managed to fracture my shoulder.  I used those things i learned over the next 6 weeks while the shoulder healed.

So now going into this New Year, knowing just how fragile life really is, and armed with a desire to do and achieve more I’m going to be more aware

  • of what I do,
  • of how I can help others
  • of time spent with family and friends

“…there was a new voice
which you slowly
recognised as your own,
that kept you company
as you strode deeper and deeper
into the world,
determined to do
the only thing you could do —
determined to save
the only life you could save.”
Mary Oliver September 1935 –

21 responses to “Moving Forward

  1. You’ve had an eventful year. I admire your attitude and tenacity. Health, wealth and happiness for 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful post! Well said!

    Like

  3. Wonderful- here’s to 2017

    Like

  4. Glad you are feeling better. Onward!

    Like

  5. You’ve had a challenging year. You are a strong and wise woman so I know you will meet 2017 head on!

    Like

  6. Go you! And take care . . .

    Like

  7. Good goals for all of us! May 2017 be a bit better for you with new goals and adventures!

    Like

  8. Onward and upward as they say! Love the Mary Oliver quote.

    Like

  9. We can only live in the present…probably a good thing! 2017 may be challenging but it is going to be worth living fully with joy and love.

    Like

  10. Thank you for sharing your insight. Blessings!

    Like

Let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.