Daily Archives: January 8, 2016

Summer Storm

Suddenly, after days of idyllic summer weather, Mother Nature turned her back on us.  Today has been like a day in July (mid-winter here).  Blustery almost gale force winds, trees blown over, pots blown off the deck and smashed and motorists warned against driving.

So a good day to do nothing but stay inside with a good book.  I’ve now succumbed to reading books on my iPad.  For months (years?) I resisted but when the Architect was ill in hospital it seemed easier to carry my iPad rather than a book.  In any case, I had the iPad to communicate with friends so..

I have read quite a few books since I moved here.  I’ve always found it a  good way to escape.  And I do like thrillers I’ve discovered – I guess I always knew this anyway.

So today was such a day.  I rose this morning made tea and toast and went back to bed, where I stayed for the rest of the morning. I was part way through a book entitled “Dead Wood” written by  Dan Ames.  This author was unknown to me and I now find that this book is the first in a series of four all of which are available to read on a kindle or in my case an iPad. So that’s where I stayed for the morning reading until I finished the book.

The story is told by John Rockne a disgraced police officer now turned private investigator.  Yes, I know there are many stories about police officers who become PIs but bear with me.  The young policeman was only six weeks out of training when he makes a terrible mistake that leads to the death of a young man. The mistake is perfectly understandable but we are simply told that he was suspended and his badge and gun were never returned to him.

A maker of fabulous guitars is killed and Rockne is approached by the father of the victim to find who killed his daughter and our hero suddenly finds himself the target of a violent ex-convict.  The twists and turns of the case kept me glued to the iPad for hours.

I’ve now downloaded the next book in the series – Hard Rock.  So if this weather doesn’t improve I shall spend tomorrow reading it.  And who knows.  There are two more books in the series.  I may just not do anything but read fr the next few days.

The way I see it, if you want the rainbow,
you gotta put up with the rain.”
Dolly Parton