What were you thinking?

As Einstein said – “There are only two ways to live your life.
One is as though nothing is a miracle.
The other is as though everything is a miracle.”
I choose the second option.

On this day four years ago, before I had met and reconnected with my Late Love, the Architect, I wrote this post, Waltzing Matilda.

Of course, I had no idea how my life would change in such a short time.

Soon after writing that I decided to make some major changes to my life.  I decided to go to Italy for a few months and I put the house on the market and it sold very quickly.  Meantime I met up with my Late Love again and what had been a friendship quickly turned into a love affair.  But having made the decision to go away for three months (at least) I journeyed to Florence and blogged every day letting my friends and relatives know what I was doing.

Then when  I returned to NZ I moved in with my Late Love, the Architect.  And in October last year, a prompt from Patricia at Patricia’s Place spoke to me and so You Are Beautiful was written.

A 5-week long visit from my sister in the UK had us showing her around Godzone – or Aotearoa (New Zealand).  A great time for us all and my sister and the Architect bonded as I had hoped and they became great friends.

Then 13 weeks in Europe catching up with friends and revisiting places we had been before but with our spouses.  And then

Unfortunately, unknown and unbidden, a tumour was growing in the Architect’s brain and suddenly it took over and won the battle, so ending the life of my Late Love.

And still, “Where you used to be, there is a hole in the world,
which I find myself constantly walking around in the daytime
and falling into at night.
I miss you like hell.”
Edna Vincent Millay, 1892-1950

So yet another a new chapter started in my life.  Early in 2016, I had a serious accident (I refer to it as another adventure) which necessitated a stay in rehab where I saw so many others so much worse off than me.  Then fully recovered, one day there was a contretemps between a chair leg and a rug – the result was the chair fell with me sitting on it and so a fractured shoulder.

As we know everything passes and once again I’m back to my normal self.  But the question now arises, what to do with the rest of my life.

I’ve begun to write again and once again have decided to write my blog posts if not daily then more often than I have recently.  I have begun to volunteer at the hospice where my Late Love died and again, I know I get more from this than they do.  Oh and as I have been reading and reviewing so many books recently, I started a new blog Books&morebooks.  Maybe one or more of the reviewed books might appeal to you.

Sorry that this post has been all about me.  This January is confirmed as having been the worst in 30 years.  Rain, wind and very little sunshine.  But yesterday we had summer.  It was just as summer ought to be.  Warm, sunny and no wind.  But alas, this morning it has reverted to what we have come to expect this summer, wind and overcast and now at midday the rain has started. The standard roses are taking yet another battering and some of the pots have blown over.  Summer, sorry not here.

summer

And of course, no post is complete without a Mary Oliver quote

“Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?”

These beautiful words, from Mary Oliver’s poem, The Summer Day, remind and inspire me. They remind me that, first and foremost, my life is entirely what I make of it and as I have only one life,  I mean to make the most of it.

14 responses to “What were you thinking?

  1. You are an inspiration for all of us. This post is so encouraging, filled with life and hope. You have been through so much the last few years and still you live today and have hope for tomorrow. Thank you, Judith, for this beautiful testament of life being lived fully.

    Like

    • Thank you for that beautiful comment Patricia. Nobody ever said life was going to be easy but for me, it was for so many years. But now I’ve learned that we have to take each day as it comes and make the most of it.

      Like

  2. Glad you’re still enjoying the twists and turns of life!

    Like

  3. Beautiful post. You are very courageous! I hope 2017 brings you joy!

    Like

  4. The key is not to give up. You do this so admirably. The weather has been weird everywhere. We even had snow on the coast of Spain, unheard of before. I look forward to more of your writing.<3

    Like

  5. i can only say, hear! hear!

    Like

  6. Well good morning from Canada. I have had a bit of a lazy lay in so it is a bit later than usual. This will be a day of creativity. But for now I lay reading and looking out my bedroom window at the most beautiful site: across my back yard or garden, as you would say, grows a huge evergreen in front of which stands a lovely garden shed. And falling at speed is Christmas card snow. Everything in site is dressed in a mantle of white. First thought…it is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen.a wonderful Sunday here and I hope a wonderful Monday for you. Rachael always says she loves summer in Edinburgh. It occurs on July 23rd! 😉

    Like

  7. You are always in inspiration! I will check out your new blog. Volunteering is always good.

    Like

Let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.