The Family Wit

My grandmother was the undisputed wit of the family.

As young girls we tried to compete with her. Before every visit we would try to impress each other with how witty we could be. Grandma listened to our attempts but she always outdid us.

Hers was a gentle wit; no sarcasm was ever allowed and so we grew to appreciate the clever use of words and the ability to write and say things that were clever and usually funny too.

Mother didn’t inherit this talent from her mother, but I like to think that one of us did.

This post is in response to the 100 word writing challenge from Velvet Verbosity where we are asked to write 100 words inspired by a single prompt. This week’s word is WITTY.

5a38f-1425948290808

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

13 responses to “The Family Wit

  1. So subtly introduced there, I didn’t realise I was reading the post.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  2. Your Grandmother sounds like a delightful person. Mine was a dragon and a stickler for table manners whose most remembered comment, by me at least, was “I will have no artistic temperament in this house” which cheered all who heard it !

    • Thanks Peter for the comment. My real grandmother was delightful but when she was growing up girls weren’t encouraged to read. She went into service when she was young and so had little time to ‘hone her wit’ This was fiction

  3. Another clever and interesting 100 words that lured me in to read the whole thing. btw They say certain physical and personality traits skip generations. My mother is always saying that I remind her of her mother.

  4. Your grandma is truly delightful. An amazing beautiful person that every grand kid wish to have. Brings a smile to our day to get to know her through your post. Thanks. Best of blessings to you and your family.

    • Thank you my friend for continuing to follow me although the posts are few and far between now.
      My real grandmother was a delightful woman but this post was fiction, although I imagine if she had been given the level of education we have she would have been a witty person.

  5. How wonderful that your grandma was a gentle wit. It’s tough to be witty without sarcasm, or sarcastic without being malicious. It’s something I have to remind myself to watch out for.

    • Hi Peg – as I said above this was fiction. My real grandmother was a gentle old lady (and she always seemed old to us) but her days were spent on things other than thinking up witticisms. 🙂

  6. These stories seem to flow right out of you.

So what's on your mind?

