Well Read on Wednesday

New Orleans was on my Must Visit list from the time I started making such a list, way back when I was a teenager.  I got to check this off in 1990 when my DYS (Dashing Young Scotsman) and I took an extended trip to the southern states of the US.  I was not disappointed.  I/we loved everything about it.  We loved the Hotel St Marie in the Old French Quarter  just a short walk from Bourbon Street; we loved the food, the beignets at the Cafe Du Monde, the music, the atmosphere and most of all we loved the friendly people we met.

Some may say that I wasted Wednesday afternoon but I disagree;  I spent it reading.  What was I reading all afternoon and well past dinner time?  The latest in the Charlie Fox thrillers – Die Easy, set in New Orleans.  Double pleasure.

If you were reading my blog posts in the middle of last year, you would know that I am a fan of Zoe Sharp and her feisty, female protagonist Charlie Fox.   I read the first book in the series after reading somewhere that Lee Childs thought Zoe Sharp one of the best thriller writers to emerge in recent times.  And I have followed/stalked Zoe and Charlie ever since.

I have awaited with impatience the publication of each book, and have read devoured each of them with undisguised pleasure, always in one sitting.  This tenth book in the series has not disappointed me and has kept me reading all afternoon.

Die Easy

This time we find Charlie and her partner/lover in New Orleans to act as body guards to a wealthy investor from Florida.   Many people feel that New Orleans the city and the people, have been ignored for too long and a celebrity  fund raiser is planned.  This is the reason Blake Dyer, the client, is going to be in New Orleans at this time.

As may be expected, this job does not go smoothly and is complicated by the fact that Sean Meyer, Charlie’s partner, has not totally recovered from the devastating accident that put him into a coma for several months.  He has woken from the coma  apparently recovered physically but there are large parts of his past that he doesn’t remember, including Charlie.

Even some of the skills at which Sean excelled before the accident seem to have deserted him/been forgotten and Charlie is not completely happy to rely on somebody who is not really at the top of his game to be part of her team.  However, she has no choice but to obey her boss when he says Sean is to be part of the close protection team.

Without giving too much away, Charlie has to face an opponent from her past, deal with a threat not only to herself but also to Sean and more importantly the client while all the time not being sure whether she can rely on Sean to watch her back.  A robbery turned hostage situation develops around the fund raiser and while there are many close protection operatives on board the boat, Charlie is thrust into the lead role as the one to ameliorate the situation and get the passengers off the boat unharmed.  As usual Charlie shows herself both physically and mentally able to cope with all that is put in her path, but with some disastrous consequences.

So I urge you to  get your hands on a copy of this book by fair means or foul – buy, borrow but perhaps I shouldn’t encourage you to steal – and set  aside a Wednesday (or any other) afternoon to read this book.

Once again I commend Zoe Sharp on writing this book, her imagination and her characters.  I like to think of her as a friend.

And I think this quote is particularly appropriate for this book.

A good book should leave you… slightly exhausted at the end.  You live several lives while reading it. “~William Styron,  American novelist and essayist
1925 – 2006

Related posts

8 responses to “Well Read on Wednesday

  1. Ok, I’ll try and read it. I ,loved the passion behind the review. That was a pretty good prompt on its own

    Like

  2. Thanks again Peter. It’s fantastic when one gets a series of books to read and enjoy Hope you like the books as much as I do.

    Like

  3. Reading is NEVER a waste of time. Glad to see you spending your time wisely. I wish I had a day to just read. Someday I will and I will be so happy.

    Like

    • Well the things I had planned for yesterday had to be deferred until today so I had all that free time on my hands. I agree that reading is NEVER a waste of time.

      Like

  4. Not come across Zoe Sharp before, but I do like to read books recommended by others. Is it best to read these books in order?

    Like

    • Each of the books is stand alone but I would suggest you start with the first one so that you get some idea of who Charlie is and what she has been through – Killer Instinct. I hope you enjoy it. Please let me know. Judith

      Like

      • Thanks Judith, I’ve just downloaded ‘Killer Instinct’ for my Kindle. I’m not a quick reader like you, but I have a long flight back home to England at the end of next week, so I will make a start then. I’ll let you know how I get on with it 🙂 Gill

        Like

  5. Well done Gill. Do let me know how you get on with the book. Judith 🙂

    Like

Let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.