Hard Knocks

I introduced you all to Zoe Sharp and her feisty protagonist Charlie Fox a few days ago.  My addiction to Charlie is growing and I found that I was still reading at 1.15am this morning.  Far too late when at this late stage in my life I need all the beauty sleep I can get!

Book cover - Hard Knocks

Anyway, I finished Hard Knocks on Sunday night but wanted to think on it before writing a review.  So here goes –

In this, the third in the series, Charlie is reluctantly spending Christmas with her disapproving parents as her apartment was trashed in a fire.  Into the strained atmosphere comes a call for help from her friend and lover Sean Meyer.  He sends his assistant to tell Charlie that an ex army “buddy” has been killed while on a mission for Sean.  Charlie doesn’t care about the dead “buddy” but for various reasons, not the least to get away from her parents, she agrees to go to Germany to discover how he died.

To do this she has to enrol in a course in close protection work in Germany; this is where Kirk (the dead ex soldier) was prior to his death.    The school is run by a Major Gilby and various (rather dodgy) instructors and it is soon clear to Charlie that they are hiding something.  She of course, sets out to discover what.  She eventually of course, discovers that they are involved in a series of kidnappings with somewhat disastrous results as stronger, more powerful forces are at work here also.

As the novel progresses we learn more about the various characters that people the story and some more about the mysterious Sean to whom Charlie is strongly attracted but whom she also knows is a danger to her.

So more rapid page turning to an unexpected ending.  If you want to know about motor bikes, close protection work, the workings of convoluted minds, then this is a book for you.  Enjoy!

I have started the next in the series – Road Kill and have two more patiently waiting for me to get to them.  So expect my addiction to keep turning up in these blogs.

20 responses to “Hard Knocks

  1. I have a stack of books on my reading list right now, but I will definitely add these, too. Right now I’m reading The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley. Have you heard of it? The sleuth in this novel is an eleven-year-old girl named Flavia de Luce. Very English. I think you would like it, if you haven’t already discovered it.

    • Thanks Susan. No that is a new author to me. I have a long list of books to get from the library. I shall add it to the list.

      • Do try Alan Bradley’s book, Judith, it’s a delight! I was involved with the Crime Writers’ Association when he won the CWA Debut Dagger for the unfinished opening to that novel and was over the moon when it went on to such success!

  2. I am in awe of any book that keeps us from our beauty sleep and can hardly wait to read the series!!!

  3. Thanks for the review! Sounds good.

  4. Sounds like an exciting read. I’ll have to add it to my list. Thanks for the great review.

  5. Judith, you’re an absolute star. Thank you so much for reviewing Charlie Fox. I’m always so glad when someone comes across the books and discovers not only that they like them, but that there are a few to go at!

  6. Hello again Zoe. thanks for the comment. I am absolutely loving Charlie Fox and in fact, other things are not getting done while I follow her. 🙂

  7. I am trying to get my hands on Zoe’s book. I’m trying to get Blindsighted through my library, but they don’t have it in the county. I am hoping to get it via interlibrary loan. I’ve suggested her to my family, and I have my siblings scrambling for copies.

  8. I’m working on making more e-formats and printed versions available this summer, so hopefully availability should improve soon!

    Thank you once again, Judith 🙂

    I’ve been going around with a grin so large I practically have a flip-top head!

    • I have always wanted a flip top car, but a flip top head – now that’s a totally different thing. Keep writing and I shall keep reading Zoe. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Stalking Charlie Fox | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  10. Pingback: Wet Wild Windy Wellington Weekend | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  11. Pingback: Well Read on Wednesday | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

So what's on your mind?

