Daily Archives: May 7, 2017

Giving

“Every sunrise is an invitation for us to arise and
brighten someone’s day.”
Richelle E. Goodrich from Smile Anyway:

Today I have a question for you.

Do you give your spare $20 to one man or do you give a little to several?

This has been bothering me as I walk through town today.  I took the train to town and as I got off, I saw a young man sitting in the underpass with a sign asking for help to get to see his daughter.

I stopped to speak to him and he told me his daughter was 2 yesterday and he needed help for the train fare to get there and back.  He was 17 years old and unemployed.    He was very respectful and blessed me when I gave him $2.  He said the little girl lived with her grandparents as the mother was still at school.  He acknowledged they had made a mistake but loved his child and was glad they had her.

I walked away feeling pleased that I could help him even if only in a small way, but later the question rose and lingered.  I don’t have an answer, do you?

There are more and more young people looking for help.  Some are raising money to go on a school trip, some are looking for money for food and some, like his young man, need a little help for a particular reason.  I know we can’t help them all, but we can help some.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

..