Hidden Messages in the Midst of Demented Ramblings

This from my sister of choice who lives in Kitchener, Ontario. She is a very soecial person and I am so glad she is in this world, for my sake and for her Aunt Fran.

bridgesburning

The strangest thing happened yesterday and the thought of it stays with me today.  I visit frequently and regularly with a dear relative who suffers from dementia.  The kind of dementia doesn’t matter, it all translates to the same thing.  Inability to communicate, to understand, to know.

I read once that someone asked an old man why he went to see his wife in the nursing home every day when she suffered from such severe dementia that she did not know him.  He replied that yes she did not know who he was, but he knew who she was.  I think of that so often.

Anyway, I am pretty much the only person who visits this dear soul and I do it because she is family, we have a long history and because I love her greatly.  Her degree of dementia varies from day to day.  Sometimes she knows who…

View original post 530 more words

6 responses to “Hidden Messages in the Midst of Demented Ramblings

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this—I am sharing it as well. What a wonderful piece and it helped me a little bit in dealing with my own mom who has dementia.

  2. Thank you Judith and Beth Ann!

  3. Beautifully written and so very touching!

  4. She is most admirable.

So what's on your mind?

