The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari

Looking for inspiration, I came across this post from way back in 2011 shortly after I started on my blogging journey.
I reread the book and as usual, got more from it on second reading. It’s funny how often that happens.
I recognised that yes, in the years since I first read the book, I have been guilty at times of acquiring things; recently I have been disposing of many. But I have also been working on
* Nourishing relationships
* Cultivating self-discipline
* Developing joyful thoughts and very importantly
* Valuing time.

When we are young we think we have all the time in the world to visit, to read, to listen, to achieve but as we grow older we realise that time is a finite commodity and none of us know how much of it we have left.  So I am trying to enjoy the time I do have left by reading, learning and listening.

Here endeth today’s lesson. And if you haven’t already done so, I encourage you to read the book.

I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

“She told me the best time to plant
a tree was 40 years ago.

The second best time is today.
Don’t waste even one minute of your day”
Robin Sharma from
The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari.

You may know that I have been reading books and acquiring knowledge on Personal Development for many years (since I was a young wife and mother with time on my hands).  I run courses on the subject and I have a library of books from many of the greats in the field including Zig Ziglar, Wayne Dyer, Jack Canfield, Louise Hay, Debbie Ford, Bob Procter and Deepak Chopra.  Amongst the books I have read time and again, is this one by Robin Sharma.  

Book

The book tells the story of a lawyer, Julian Mantle, who is forced to confront his life choices after an almost fatal heart attack while appearing at a trial. …

View original post 271 more words

8 responses to “The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari

  1. * Nourishing relationships
    * Cultivating self-discipline
    * Developing joyful thoughts and very importantly
    * Valuing time……Judith I have copied these down as they are perfect things to work on. We discuss things along these lines each week and the one I am weakest on is cultivating self discipline see how easy i forget!! Trust you to stir my lethargy today when I sort of look around and say…oh what shall I do.? This? this? It’s wonderful having you as a friend!! Talk soon. I know you are sleeping peacefully on the other side of the world.

    • Thank you for that lovely comment, Chris. I too value our friendship and I hope I let you know often that I do. We are nourishing our relationship.

  2. Oh and I have checked out this book and 3 others by the same author just now. I know you mentioned it before and of course if I do not act promptly the thought disappears into the ether somewhere.

  3. Like you I started blogging in 2011 and it seems to be almost a different world now.

    • Hi, Peter. Was life simpler even then? I know that many of the bloggers with whom I used to communicate are no longer in the blogosphere. I wonder why.

      • I remember, when I started blogging I thought I was making these wonderful friendship across the world only to find that they went from commenting on every post to total silence and then disappearance. It was shocking and saddening at first but now I am more detached about it all.

  4. Our outlook on life certainly changes are we grow older and realize people are more important than things. Will check out the book and try to work on the our areas you mentioned. Cheers for every day of this life!

So what's on your mind?

