A New Kid on the Block

Today I came across a very new blogger.  Well at this time she has posted two blogs.  Today’s post really resonated with me.

Those of you who know me, know I have a real ‘thing’ about how today’s young are mollycoddled, wrapped in cotton wool and hardly ever left to their own devices outside in the fresh air.  Go over to Heidi’s blog here.  Please do.  Remember when we first started on this blogging journey, writing our posts and wondering if anyone was ever going to read much less follow us.

And this came up because Darlene Foster posted this today.   Darlene was a farm kid from out back Canada (sorry Darlene can’t remember where) and so she particularly liked this and shared it with us.  Thanks, Darlene.  We townie’s love reading such things.

And one of my favourite farmer bloggers is Cecilia.  She is a New Zealander residing in the US and running a small farm.  Currently, she is caring for Waimoana, or Wai for short a pot belly pig rescued from a farmer in Kentucky.  This poor pig has been treated so badly and Ce is doing her best to help him recover.  Here’s the link to the first introduction to Wai.  Each day Ce posts on his recovery.  Oh, it’s so slow but it is happening.  We all have our fingers crossed for Wai.

And another blogger Patricia at Patricia’s Place today mused on being grateful for kindness.  and of course, that took me back to this time last year when I was recovering from my big adventure aka accident and I had to learn to accept the kindness offered by everyone.  It is often easier to give than to receive and one has to learn to receive graciously the kindness offered.

And today, my sister of choice Chris at Bridges Burning caught my attention with the title of her post ““J.K. Rowling thinks of Harry Potter series as an ex-lover.”  She talked about headlines and how they can draw you into an item and how sometimes, they disappoint.

And another of my sisters of choice Dor at  Virginia Views talked about the To Do List and how even though we are retired many items just don’t get done.  Oh, at least she has Bill to cover for her.  How often during those busy, busy years did I think of what I would do when I had the time.

At the start of my blogging journey,  I wrote about the busy years and now, once again life has taken a 360-degree turn and things have changed. It is interesting to look back to June 20, 2011, and see how things have changed.

And so the musing of this elderly woman in far away New Zealand comes to an end for another day.

Waterfall

“And as the water continues in its downhill rush over rocks
and the thoughts continue to tumble around in my brain
with no defined pattern or path,
they eventually find and settle into a safe place
and the void is suddenly filled
and my mind is active once again.”
Judith Baxter, sister, mother, grandmother
blogger, and friend
1938 –

 

18 responses to “A New Kid on the Block

  1. Thanks for the ping back dear friend! And we are always happy to welcome new kids on the block!

  2. Oh oh the link to farm kids won’t work

  3. Thanks for the introduction to new blogs and blogs that are new to me

  4. You and I have been blogging for pretty much the same amount of time. One of the things which always interests me is that those guaranteed commentators of “Back then” are now silent and many no longer blog. When I started blogging I thought it would be like joining a new school or company and you would be bonding indefinitely with a bunch of new classmates. What I then discovered is that blogging is more like a cocktail party at a railway station where people appear and then vanish as the demands or interests of their physical life change. Like you, however, I come across new classmates quite often who shed a lovely new light on life, and that is always nice to see.

    • Hi Peter, Judith and I started blogging at the same time as you, and we have a circle formed back then that remains strong, even though now and then we might not blog for a bit we stay in touch .So friendships do last. Some we were close to back then have indeed disappeared, some surfacing occassionally.

    • Hi Peter. As Chris says, we all started blogging about the same time. occasionally I have been MIA for a while, life gets in the way, but then I return and catch up with my many blogging friends. Chris and I Skype each week and we have become firm friends although on the other side of the world.
      I too wonder where are the many regular blogging friends that used to write their posts and comment on mine. Hopefully, they are all still enjoying life.
      Thanks for taking the time to comment Peter.

  5. Your posts are always an inspiration for living not matter what life throws our way! Your blog was one of the first I followed. Love the new photo – cheers!

    • Thanks, Jo Nell. As Peter says, one wonders where all those regular bloggers are now. But it’s fantastic that you and I are still in touch.
      Oh the photo – that was taken 4 years ago when I was in London with my sister about to journey to Florence. How very much has changed since that photo was taken. I hope life is treating you well.

  6. Thanks for the mention! Glad you enjoyed a bit of rural humour! I love your new header. Perfect.

    • Hi, Darlene. Yes, I too love the humour and the twist at the end of the tale. Great. And the photo was taken in London with my sister at Jamie Oliver’s before I took off to Florence. Happy memories.

  7. Thank you for the mention. I love being one of your chosen sisters. I love your musings in this post too.

  8. Thanks for including me in your post. I enjoyed visiting the other blogs you linked. Always interesting to meet new bloggers.

  9. Thank you for including me in your post. I’m glad you stumbled across my blog. If you have any tips for me I’d love to hear them.

So what's on your mind?

