Am I an addict

“An intelligent person can rationalise anything; a wise person doesn’t try.”
― Jen Knox, After the Gazebo

On no.  Don’t worry.  I haven’t taken to drugs or booze, just a television series.

sherlock

Note – I hope I’m not impinging on anyone’s copyright.
I found this on Google images.

I  watch very little televIision and even when I do it is of the programmes I have recorded.  I prefer to choose what I watch and when I watch.

We have a TV channel here that shows only British programmes and this is what I mostly record and watch.  Some are reruns of old series but there are some good new drama series as well.

Friends and some family members,  and yes some of my blogging friends, have been talking about Sherlock starring Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock Holmes.  I had no desire to watch this programme and therefore didn’t.  But a few weeks ago I turned on the TV and Sherlock was playing.  I watched and over the past couple of weeks I have been recording the programme and on these wet windy afternoons, have watched several.

Now I can’t say that I am one of those who must watch each week, but I find myself doing so.  And what is the attraction of this programme over so many others?

Well, for a start, there are no swear words bandied about by and to all and sundry. This is rare in today’s television series.  There are no gratuitous sexual scenes and while there is some violence it all seems to have already happened before Sherlock and Watson come on the scene.

So this programme suits an elderly widow woman sitting watching TV alone.  Oh yes, you can feel sorry for me.

What else to write about on this ghastly (supposedly) summer day?

I went for a walk to the village today.  While it was not raining it was quite windy.  And as I haven’t walked for several weeks, with so many excuses and no real reasons to put forward, the walk was more difficult for me than it had been when I was walking regularly.  So even though I shall be able to drive again next week, I shall continue walking to get back to where I was.

And yes, those steps were so much more difficult today; fighting the wind and climbing 134 stairs is not funny.  I was very pleased to arrive home and sit with my feet up and with a cup of tea.  Note – I did have a coffee break in the village but….

So now, having written this crazy post, I’m going to watch the latest edition of the programme.  I don’t know how far behind we are to the rest of the world, but does it matter?

“Instructions for living a life.
Pay attention.
Be astonished.
Tell about it.”
― Mary Oliver

17 thoughts on “Am I an addict

  1. My daughter and granddaughters are also addicted and keep telling me I should watch Sherlock – maybe I can catch up on player. And as for walking – I’m very wary about how I put my feet down on these snowy, icy pavements we now have here. Feeling thankful that I negotiated my way to the doctor’s and back home via the village with no mishap this morning!

  2. Windy days call for tea and tv. Although as I have neither tv nor means to connect I would have to find anothe activity. And, now that I think of it we never have a windy day!

  3. We had a house guest this past week, none of us avid TV watchers. We decided to watch the new series (new to Americans, anyway) about Queen Victoria. While bumbling about finding the station, we saw Sherlock. Our friend knew the show, so perhaps she watches it at home.

  4. I’ve been searching for something to watch that’s British, Judith, so I’ll try Sherlock. I rarely watch American shows but did try The Good Wife and have become addicted!

  5. First, I am impressed with your walking 134 stairs! Keep up the good walking! I don’t watch much TV other than the news but I do enjoy our Public Broadcasting Station (PBS) and get some British shows. I enjoy “Sherlock,” “Victoria,” and others. Take care, Judith!

    • Sorry for the tardy response. Thanks for reading and responding. I don’t watch much TV either. I’m busy trying to get back to the level I was when I walked each and every day

So what's on your mind?

