More Walking

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, 
“and what is inside them,
for words have the power to change us.”
― Cassandra Clare, American author of young adult fiction,
1973 –

Many years ago I discovered Julia Cameron and her book The Artist’s Way.  Through this book, her suggestions and in particular, her Morning Pages, I found that what I really wanted was be a life coach.  I then discovered a special Life Coach, Cary Volmer in Minnesota, and found out first hand what a life coach does.  She encouraged me and subsequently I took a Life Coach course in Australia  and became certified.

So why am I telling you this today, many years after the event?  Well, today I purchased Julia’s next book – The Artist’s Way for Retirement.

As usual, I’m spending the weekend with my son and his family.  Today my son was asleep as he works as Night Manager at a Wellington Hotel, my grandsons and their mother were all working and so I took myself off for my walk and ended up in the local mall.  The bookshop, as always, drew me to it and I saw this book.  I picked it up just to look at it, you understand.  The book fell open and the first thing that jumped out at me was the paragraph that included:

Walking makes” a quilt out of the silken patches of our experience.
So yes, it’s important that we walk.”

For me, walking has broadened my life, making me more independent than I have been for several months -4 or 5 kms a day makes all the difference to my life.  So of course, I had to buy the book.

As I’m almost completely recovered I now have to decide what to do with this life of mine and so I’m starting the 12-week course covered in this book to find out where I’m going next and what I am going to do.  So as we say,and if you’re interested, watch this space.

Butterflies

18 responses to “More Walking

  1. How exciting for you to be ready to open a new chapter in your life! I love the butterfly quote.

  2. You’ve spurred my curiousity, I will look for this author’s books.

  3. Enjoy the journey!

  4. Thank you for sharing your new journey. I will try it too!!

  5. I’m eager to read about your next adventures.

  6. My library does not have Cameron ‘s latest book but I have gotten on the list for 2 others! See how you inspire?

    • Enjoyed our conversation today dear friend and loved seeing around your abode. Hope you don’t have to wait too long for the books from the library,

  7. Of course we want to know what your next adventure will be! Keep walking…

  8. I have a copy of The Artist’s Way on my bookshelf too. The Morning Pages are a great way to figure out “what’s next.” 🙂

  9. If nothing ever changed… There’d be no butterflies.
    Wonderful! 😀

So what's on your mind?

