Today is Tuesday

It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life for me
And I’m feeling good”
Leslie Bricusse, The Leslie Bricusse Songbook 

As I was so pleased with myself following yesterday’s walk, I decided to walk again today.

IMG_0739 (1)

This time I found some other steps leading from our road down towards the village. And this time there were not 132 steps to navigate but 154.

So I walked down and found myself in yet another road I had never seen before, then on to the village and a hot chocolate and a scone for lunch, although I was so hot I should really have had a cold drink.

Then back home, this time retracing yesterday’s walk to the village, past the primary school, along two roads and up those 132 steps. I must say this gets easier each day.

A shorter distance today – 2.90 kms and 6.9K steps. I wonder where I’ll go tomorrow.

I’m always thrilled at what one sees when walking that one completely misses when driving.  And if I hadn’t beenUpwords walking to the village instead of driving I wouldn’t have found these roads and would I ever have ventured down these steps.

Later I was picked up by a friend to spend the afternoon at her place, talking but mainly playing a game new to me called Upwords.

It has now become a regular weekly afternoon and I am certainly enjoying this new way of making this elderly brain work.

 

16 thoughts on “Today is Tuesday

  1. You do see so much more when you walk, don´t you. The new game sounds like fun. Is it sort of like Scrabble? My 95-year-old great aunt played Scrabble often.

  2. I enjoyed your blog today. It is an inspiration to get me off my lazy behind. I enjoyed driving across Canada from Winnipeg to Yarmouth and Glen Margaret outside Peggy’s Cove. It was a fresh vista around every corner. Thanks for the quote.

      1. No bikinis in my future either! Of course, there were also no bikinis in my past ~ I always preferred one piece suits. Better for diving without losing my bottoms.

  3. spudbudette

    I use to love walking outdoors! Maybe one day I will overcome my fear (I was hit by a car while walking across the street in 2013) and seek out some adventures of my own. Until then I will enjoy it through others.

    1. Oh how awful for you. Accidents, as I know well, can happen any time so now in my walks I’m particularly careful and aware of traffic and other obstacles. Hope you get over your fear soon. Just going over to your log to see who you are and what you are up to.

So what's on your mind?

