Words and more words

“She had always wanted words, she loved them;
grew up on them.
Words gave her clarity, brought reason, shape.”
―  Michael Ondaatje  1943 –
from   “The English Patient”

Those of you who have read some of my earlier posts know that I too love words. My father shared his love of words and reading with his three young daughters and in turn, I have shared with my children.

I love it when I come across a new word and this week in reading a book published in 1950 “To Love and Be Wise” by Josephine Tey I came across several words previously unknown to me. I’d like to share a few with you.

  • Farouche – Marked by shyness and lack of social graces
  • Euphony – Being pleasing to the ear, harmonious
  • Imperceptive – Unaware, obtuse  **
  • Distrait – Distracted or absent minded
  • Excoriated – Censured scathingly
  • Pertinacity – Stubbornly tenacious
  • Alienist – Pyschiatrist
  • (Mental) dyspepsia – ill humour
  • Imperturbable – hard to disturb or upset  **

** The meanings of these two words were easily worked out by this raging mind but the rest were certainly new.

It’s very interesting to see how different words were used in an earlier time –  66 years ago.  But I don’t think I shall be using any of these words in my writing.  I just love the sound of them all.

And of course, though not a new word to me, loquacious was chosen by Tara at Thin Spiral Notebook as the word for this weeks 100 Word Challenge.

Have you come across any new words recently that you’d like to share?

 

And now I am spending the afternoon and evening with my son and his family.  it’s a beautiful sunshiny day and I am sitting out on the deck enjoying this winter weather and waiting for the others to join me..

IMG_1002

New Year’s Day 2016

 

 

12 responses to “Words and more words

  1. I love words. I’m disappointed to say I haven’t come actoss any new ones lately, well, except Spanish ones since I am busy learning the language

    • Hi Joss Now that most of my reading is done on my iPad using Kindle it’s very easy t highlight the new words. That’s much easier than writing them down.

  2. I love the new (old) words you recently discovered. That is why I like to read the classics from time to time. I also love the Michael Ondaatje quote from an amazing book. Your grandsons sure have grown. I´m glad you are having a lovely day down under with family. ❤

  3. It’s sad when lovely words vanish from our language and robs the younger generation of some of the pleasure of reading the old literary classics. I also enjoy discovering etymologies – excoriated, for instance! Thanks, Judith, once again.

  4. Wonderful! I am off to see family later but will happily contribute some new words!

  5. I used to be better about looking up new-to-me words while reading for pleasure. Now, I’m usually in bed and don’t bother to look them up . . . so they evaporate.

    Have a FUN day in the SUN.

  6. Pluviophile – a lover of rain;someone who finds joy and peace of mind during rainy days.

So what's on your mind?

