Today’s Rant

it’s now time for a rant about Customer Service.

A few weeks ago I wrote about fantastic service I had received.  Today we go to the other end of the scale.  Right to the bottom…

I was so angry that for the first time ever I wrote a review on their webpage.

“I am totally amazed at the lack of customer service offered by this company. I originally ordered two pieces of furniture by phone and first thing next morning I asked to cancel the order and to have the charge reversed on my credit card.

That started a series of phone calls and emails (emails only accepted by Head Office obviously they don’t want to interact with the public).

  • I was told they didn’t accept “returns” on furniture – the furniture hadn’t left their store.
  • I was told they could have sold the two pieces to someone else – the receipt is dated 4.22 pm and they close at 5pm. My first call to them was at 9.10 the next morning. Don’t think that argument stacks up.

They sent me a “Gift Voucher” while we were still having discussions about the furniture. Totally useless as I live in Wellington and they are in Tauranga some 520 kms away. Eventually in despair I agreed to take the furniture to be told that they had sold the couch. Surely they broke the contract with me then.

I was then told that the furniture would be picked up on February 4 and on February 11 after calling the carriers I found it still hadn’t left the shop. I’m never going back to that retailer. It is without doubt the very worst experience I have ever had with a retailer. Customer service – it’s non existent at The Importer”.

And I still haven’t heard from the shop whether or not the furniture has been picked up by the carriers.

Ho hum!  Never going back to that shop.  Surely the owners, directors would prefer to have one happy customer rather than a totally unhappy one who is busy spreading the word.

“Customers may forget what you said but they’ll never forget how you made them feel” – Unknown

The quote works equally well for both sides of the coin.

 

9 responses to “Today’s Rant

  1. Good for you! I heartily agree with the quote you gave us. Hopefully your review makes people think twice about dealing with such an unfriendly and unprofessional company. You ever forget bad treatment.

  2. Sounds as though you were dealing with a ‘Jobsworth’ who hadn’t the gumption to address the problem quickly and easily , thinking too much of the instant profits rather than the possible future interaction with a satisfied customer.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  3. Ugh! I’ve worked in customer service all of my adult life. This is atrocious!

  4. Sounds like some of our cable services here in the states. One would think that in this day and age of instantaneous reviews that companies would be exceptionally on the ball where customer service is concerned but sadly it feels like the reverse is true. I read your post where you received the furniture but you should not have had to endure this situation. I hope at the very least you receive a written apology from the “head office.”

    • No an apology will not be forthcoming. They are totally ignorant of customer service so I shall do all I can to blacken their name wherever I go. A few weeks earlier I posted about fantastic customer service I had received. This second company should take a leaf out of the book of the first.

So what's on your mind?

