Melancholy

And I realize how useless wails are and
how gratuitous melancholy is.”

Mircea Eliade, Romanian born historian of religion, fiction writer,
and philosopher.  
1907-1986

Melancholy is how I’m feeling today.  I looked back on this post written almost a year ago and notice how my life has changed once again and in such a short space of time.

This time last year we were at our beach house with friends for the holiday weekend – Waitangi Day.  The holiday is to commemorate a significant day in the history of New Zealand. “The Treaty of Waitangi was signed on 6 February 1840, in a marquee in the grounds of James Busby’s house (now known as the Treaty house) at Waitangi in the Bay of Islands. The Treaty made New Zealand a part of the British Empire, guaranteed Māori rights to their land and gave Māori the rights of British subjects.”  So this is a very important document to those of us who choose to live or were born in New Zealand.

Happy

 

IMG_0147

Back to last year at Ohope.  The weather was beautiful.  We had been there for a couple of weeks when our friends came to join us.  How we both loved the beach house and how we both loved entertaining friends.

On the morning that I wrote that post, I was the first one up.  Nobody else was stirring so I took myself off to get the Sunday papers.  Walking along an almost deserted beach, I realised once again, just how lucky I was.  I lived in this beautiful part of the world, I had my friends and family and as the icing on the cake, I had my new love The Architect. And that morning it was perfect.

I believe in counting my blessings every day.  An attitude of gratitude.  And even if things are different one year on I still count my blessings,  I have my health, family and friends these great memories to console me when I am feeling melancholy.

When I used to run my Memories course I had a saying I used as part of the course.  If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you will have seen it used before –

“Circumstances or people can take away your material possessions,
they can take away your money, and they can take away your health.
But no one can ever take away your precious memories.”
Judith Baxter, blogger, mother, sister and friend.

And after this, tomorrow we will find out what happens next in the Sandy saga.

 

10 responses to “Melancholy

  1. You are blessed to have happy memories. Mucho Abrazoz (hugs in Spanish)

  2. It’s a beautiful memory. Put on some happy music and dance. Big hug.

  3. I’m sure the Architect will be looking down and giving a mental Hug to cheer you again. The person may have left but the love still abounds. Ju gives me the odd tweak when I need it.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  4. sending you a gentle hug through cyber space dear friend.

  5. So true 🙂 Not always easy to remember those good times when you’re feeling glum.

So what's on your mind?

