If tomorrow never comes – 2

“If tomorrow never comes
Will she know how much I loved her
Did I try in every way to show her every day
That she’s my only one
And if my time on earth were through
And she must face this world without me
Is the love I gave her in the past
Gonna be enough to last
If tomorrow never comes”
From If Tomorrow Never Comes sung by Garth Brooks.

I heard the song this morning and thought back to an earlier post I wrote in February 2012 – four years ago, really?

And now another love has departed this life (read died) and more than ever I know that we have to tell those to whom we are close, how much we love them.  Actions tell us/them but words are very powerful

So today please tell your family and friends how important they are to you.  When The Architect was dying, when he was in the final coma, I told him how much I loved him in words and actions.  I helped bathe him, change his bed and just as importantly, always had his favourite music playing quietly in the background and constantly reiterated how important he was to me and how much I loved him.

We are told, or I was told by the caring staff at the hospice, that hearing is the last of the senses to go, so I tell myself he heard what I was saying and heard his music.  And of course, I felt so much better having done this.

I’m becoming maudlin so I’m off for a walk with a friend in the open air and sunshine.  More tomorrow.

“Where you used to be, there is a hole in the world,
which I find myself constantly walking around
in the daytime and falling in at night.
I miss you like hell.”
Edna St Vincent Millay

American lyrical poet and playwright.
1892-1950  
Gilda Radner

14 responses to “If tomorrow never comes – 2

  1. I’ve only heard the Ronan Keating version of this Judith
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4kzGhDEURA but the words are beautiful. I agree that we should never miss he opportunity to let someone know how loved they are. When Julia was in the hospice both Yvonne and I made sure we sat by her bed and told her just how loved she was but naturally afterwards I asked myself if I’d told her often enough in life.
    There is a big Julia sized hole in my life as yours must have an Architect sized one.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Thanks David, I know I can get through this as I have done before when my Dashing Young Scotsman died, but there are days when it all seems too much to bear. Yes, a Jon, The Architect, sized hole.

  2. You will have days like this. I hope you are comforted knowing you cared for your love and told him you loved him. Sending you warm hugs. ❤

  3. I’m sorry for your loss. I too, did as you did and it is a comfort to the living and I’m convinced to one who is leaving us. In my nursing practice when I was with families preparing to say goodbye, I’d tell them this was their chance to say everything in their hearts, hold nothing back. Hopefully we do get that chance and there’s no time like now to say and show it.

    • I agree Donna. How many funerals have you been to where people say lovely things about the departed: I wonder f they told them when they were alive.

  4. may your heart be soothed today, while walking, while remembering, while being here.

  5. May you find peace today in the memories and writing about it to encourage others. I try to say, “I love you,” to those I love every day and part with hugs. Thanks for the reminder. There are no guarantees for tomorrow.

  6. Interesting about the sense of hearing being the last to go. Thanks for sharing. I’m glad you were there with your sweet voice to comfort your architect.

  7. Pingback: One Year On | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

So what's on your mind?

