Profound Thoughts

“Tell me,
what is it you plan to do
with your one
wild and precious life?”
― Mary Oliver

Way back in August 2011 at the very beginning of my blogging journey I wrote a post on Waking in the night.  This was prompted by a post from Peter at Counting Ducks.  Peter says rather eloquently that “Ultimately though it’s what you’ve done, who you’ve known and how you acted when there was no compass or someone to judge your actions that measure how you’re  using your brief time on this planet.”    He adds as a conclusion “Just connect with whats around you and people who matter with you.”

How this resonates with me at this time in my life.  I have no compass to guide me although I have been through this slough once before.  I know that only I can decide how to act and react at this particular time (or at any time) in my life.  I can choose to be miserable and make my family and friends miserable – at least for a time until they get fed up and move on, or I can face life with a smile on my face and a determination to make the most of everything that I have.

I say that “I Choose How I Will Live the Rest of My Life” and I choose not to let this set back (the death of my beloved architect) determine who I am for the next stage of my life.  He would not want me to be miserable and so I am going forth to embrace all that this wonderful world has to offer a woman in the final years of her life.

And because Mary Oliver is without doubt my favourite poet of the 20th/21st Century I offer this :

“…there was a new voice
which you slowly
recognized as your own,
that kept you company
as you strode deeper and deeper
into the world,
determined to do
the only thing you could do —
determined to save
the only life you could save.”
―Mary Oliver, 1935 – American poet who has won the
National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize.

 

 

 

 

17 responses to “Profound Thoughts

  1. Going on isn’t always easy is it Judith but for some it’s the only way. If you can still face life with smile despite what’s happened you’re showing true determination to get the best from life it’s possible to get.
    I hope that embracing life as you are doing will bring you much joy and that you get out what you put in.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  2. When you’re feeling miserable, it sure isn’t easy to CHOOSE not to. I’ve given a lot of thought to that, when I’ve read all those endless, motivational quotes … but it can be done, when you focus hard on all the joys of life and living.

    I clicked on the link to countingducks, which took me straight to a fictional, satiric post, that could have been written about my mother. It was almost chilling.

    • Hi Rebekah. Yes Peter at Counting Ducks chooses Manthel satirical/fictional topics and he pulls them all off so well.
      Motivational quotes are good but the only person who can motivate one is oneself. Thanks for the comment

  3. Your attitude is amazing and an inspiration to many. The Mary Oliver quotes are right on. Keep on keeping on as they say! Enjoy your summer. It is a bit cooler here in Spain but still lovely and sunny.

  4. This is wonderful, Judith! Mary Oliver is one of my favorites as well. It seems often, when nothing else will help, poetry somehow does. I offer you a bit of a poem from one of Theodore Roethke’s longer ones:
    “A lively, understandable spirit once entertained you.
    Be still. Wait.
    It will come again.”

  5. Keep on keeping on my fruend! Hugs!

  6. Mary Oliver is a wonderful companion on this journey called life. We do get to choose. Like you, that has often been my banner call. There are times, though, when I wish I could just flow along without having to worry about choices and, come to think of it, I suppose there are those times and I am thankful. Some days, choosing to breathe has been my biggest choice.

    • Yes Mary Oliver is a companion of many years. She just has a quote to fit whatever I’m going through or so it seems. And yes, choosing to breathe is good.

  7. What you say about your beloved architect sounds very right to me, dear Judith. And it is good that you still aim at enjoying the things that are joyful to you. Best wishes, Uta

  8. That’s a beautiful poem and speaks eloquently into the present season of your life.

So what's on your mind?

