Five Day Challenge – Day Five

The Five Day Challenge is
Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge.

ONE YEAR AGO

L1090850

 One year ago we were in San Gimignano in Tuscany in north-central Italy.  This is a small walled medieval hill town known at the Town of Fine Towers it is famous for its medieval architecture and for the preservation of about a dozen of its tower houses.

L1090884-1

The town is immediately recognisable  as it sits on a hilltop and the towers on the skyline make it visible for miles around

We spent several happy days wandering around this lovely town and admiring the architecture much to the delight of the Architect.

And once again special thanks to Cat at Catterel for nominating me.  Now I nominate Granny at Granny1947.  Granny lives in South Africa, a place I have never visited, but I love to read Granny’s posts to learn a little about the country.

22 responses to “Five Day Challenge – Day Five

  1. Beautiful. Was that a fortified village, like the villages perchés in the south of France, that were often attacked by the Moors/Arabs?

    • Yes it was fortified and sitting high on a hill was more easily defended. Thanks for nominating e for the challenge – I really enjoyed it.

      • So glad you enjoyed the challenge! In Provence, I believe the houses in the villages perchés were built tall for practical reasons, too – not a lot of space to spread horizontally, and the animals were housed on the ground floor. Their body heat helped keep the upper storeys warm. And it was easier to defend yourself from above if your house was attacked.

  2. All your posts were great! I am having fun with this too.

  3. I wanted to say, this village looks charming. ❤

  4. My husband and I love the charm of Italy especially the villages of Tuscany and then farther south along the Amalfi coast. You photos bring back fond memories.

  5. I’m glad you nominated Granny1947 . . . she’s been goofing off too much. 😛

  6. Oh Dear Judith…the pressure!!!!!!
    OK…I shall give it a bash.
    Though I have no exotic places to talk about.
    Will have to dig in my archives.

  7. I love seeing pictures like this. It does make me a bit homesick and yet also reminds me of the beauty in that part of our world.

  8. The tower houses are quite unique. One would imagine a lot of stairs involved.

So what's on your mind?

