The Concrete Wall

NOTE: The WordPress weekly photo prompt for March 13, 2015, is wall: This week, consider the walls you’ve erected and decorated, the halls you walk down each day, or the exteriors you’ve ignored or neglected. What do these walls reveal about a place, people, or you?

OK so this is the first time I have used a photo prompt.  If you are a regular reader of my blog you will know that my photography is simply point and shoot, usually with my iPhone or i Pad.  But today I read What Happened to that Fantastic Wallpaper”.  and I decided to give it a try.

Concrete block wall with Virginia Creeper

Concrete block wall with Virginia Creeper

IMG_0336

Growing up the car port

This obviously a concrete block wall surrounding our house.  The house was recently completed and the bare, stark walls were in need of softening.  So six Virginia Creeper plants were ordered, delivered and planted some 2 months ago.  Look at how vigorous they are – they are already creeping into the car port and at one point ready to leap over the wall and drop down on the other side.

IMG_0335

The strong young plants are thriving in our corner of Paradise,  Come over and see for yourself.  The coffee pot is on.

Coffee and cake

PS     WordPress still playing up – the photos are all the same size but alas when I publish the post they are different sizes.

24 responses to “The Concrete Wall

  1. They’re great shots and that cuppa looks especially welcoming.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  2. That will be a beautiful wall one day in the not too distant future. Totally agree about WordPress – if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

  3. hmmm…maybe Mr. Howdy who offers chat support from wp may pop up and you can ask him about the photos. Keep the coffee on so he’s sure to smell it, drop in and offer help

  4. I love Virginia Creeper and am planning to plant some to climb up my ugly garage wall. I too am a point and shoot photographer, mainly with iphone since my camera died, but oh how I admire some of the photographers who take part in this challenge. They make me want to go out and buy an SLR except that I would have no idea how to use it!

    • My partner (the Architect likes the look of concrete bock walls but agreed they could be softened with the creeper. In fact it was he who bought the plants. I usually leave the photography to the Architect as he is an avid photographer with the latest and greatest camera.

  5. Those plants are very ambitious. Love the pictures!

  6. A yummy piece of cake, a cake fork, a strawberry, and black coffee. Lovely picture, Judith. We had yesterday cake and coffee at a French Patisserie in the Rocks Area in Sydney. I hope to publish some pictures of it soon. 🙂

    • Look forward to seeing those photos Uta. Take care. J 🙂

    • I published a post now about yesterday’s outing in Sydney. We took heaps of pictures. But alas I found out now, that this time nobody thought of taking a picture of the cakes. Sorry about this. But I can assure you, we had some lovely cakes at the French patisserie. 🙂

  7. Your plants are indeed thriving. Why wouldn’t they, with all that coffee aroma wafting around?

    Shakti

  8. Coffee AND Cake! Wonderful. That wall will be a luxurious leafy oasis before you know it! c

    On Tue, Mar 17, 2015 at 10:47 PM, I choose how I will spend the rest of my

  9. Pingback: The Wall | My Atheist Blog

  10. The Virginia Creeper looks right at home in NZ!

So what's on your mind?

