WATCHING

The root of all superstition is that men observe when a thing hits,
but not when it misses.”
― Francis Bacon

There will be three Fridays the 13th this year – February, March and November.  And we just have to decide whether we are superstitious or not.

Wikipedia gives us a name for Friday the 13th – “paraskevidekatriaphobia, from the Greek words Paraskeví (Παρασκευή, meaning “Friday”), and dekatreís (δεκατρείς, meaning “thirteen”)”

I’m not superstitious and for me it is just another Friday but I am being extra careful today.

Now to other things.  Today I am WATCHING

Judith & Alice

  • The way a newly born baby attracts people and noticing the joy of being allowed to hold her
  • The huge waves rolling onto the beach; they are quite magnificent in their power
  • Surfers battling these waves and some succeeding in standing up
  • Children paddling in the surf
  • Two older couples just enjoying the sunshine, sand and the water’s edge
  • Puffs of smoke emanating from White Island – New Zealand’s most active cone volcano.  It’s very close only 48kms/30 miles from shore.  It’s puffing away merrily today.
  • And strangers interacting as they meet on the beach
  • A couple walking their dogs
  • A small child clambering onto a tyre strung up to make a swing
  • My partner stretched out on a lounger contentedly reading
  • Teachers from the local school rounding up the pupils
  • A group of teenagers enjoying their lunch on the beach
  • The same group chasing each other and generally having fun
  • The brilliant sun shining down onto our part of the world that we call Paradise.

Ohope beach

18 thoughts on “WATCHING

  1. I have to thank you for sharing your observations and your moments with me. I’ve been a manic beast all day today, and experiencing your serenity here is the most calm I’ve yet been (it’s Thursday night here).

    As for the Day…I’ve always found superstition to be what you make of it. I celebrate Friday the 13th as a personal mini-holiday, and I’ve yet to have a bad one!

    *knock on wood* 😉

    1. Hi Darlene. So you made it to Spain. I haven’t been very diligent at keeping up with my friends in the blogosphere recently and so have obviously missed your moving to Spain. Best wishes and hopes for your new life. Look forward to reading about it soon. 🙂

  2. All is well on this side of the world little Sister. It is a mild winter here and I suppose more snow days would have inspired more writing. I am experimenting with photography instead but “we’ll see” how that goes. Hoping to be re-inspired and happy to reconnect with you. ~Dor

  3. I think I would call it paradise too, Judith. 🙂 Amazing to be able to watch a volcano across the bay!
    My Mam was very superstitious, and I’m not really, but I’m always ‘aware’ of things like Black Friday 🙂

    1. Oh yes Jo Paradise indeed and now we are back home in another corner of our world. A house backing onto a beech forest – should one woman be this lucky!

  4. Those fortunate children who have lunch on the beach. I never saw a beach until my last year of high school, could only imagine what the horizon looked like resting on the ocean. I was almost certain one would see Europe from USA! How naive.

So what's on your mind?

