Writing 101: Personality on the Page

Today’s Challenge and I still haven’t caught up but decided I should like to do this one now.

The Challenge is :

“We all have anxieties, worries, and fears. What are you scared of? Address one of your worst fears.

Today’s twist: Write this post in a style distinct from your own.

This looked like a real challenge.  Where to start?

I have breezed through life with very few fears but

  • I have always been afraid that something bad could happen to one of my loved ones
  • I have been anxious about my aged parents on the other side of the world; both now dead
  • I was afraid of cats until I took a course of EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) or Tapping as it is sometimes known.  Now I am no longer afraid of cats and have even been known to stroke one but
  • My worst fear was realised at 2.28am on April 22 1998.  My Dashing (not so) Young Scotsman died.

I wondered/ feared :

  • How would I live without him
  • How could I live without him
  • Where would I live without him
  • How could I go through each day knowing he wasn’t waiting for me at home
  • How could I smile and pretend that life was “normal”
  • What was normal anymore
  • When would the “time heals” kick in
  • When would I stop counting the hours, days since he died and move onto the months and years

And I found that while my worst fear had been realised on that ghastly day, I could:

  • Live my life without him though I missed him madly
  • Move house and so find where I could live without him
  • Go through each day with his memories to help me
  • What became normal was different to anything I had expected or experienced
  • Time didn’t heal although the hurt was lessened as time passed
  • Now I say he died 16 years ago.

And now after so long, my whole life has changed as I have a new partner and we are making a new life together.

Note: I don’t know if I have met the challenge in the way in which it was designed.  I hope so.

 

3 responses to “Writing 101: Personality on the Page

  1. I like the point form. I also like the progression of feelings. Well done.

  2. Wow, what an incredible way of exploring loss and the ways it overlaps with fear, what an amazing piece of writing in response to this challenge! I’m so happy you have found a new partner–and knowing this history makes that fact all the more meaningful!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  3. Reblogged this on I choose how I will spend the rest of my life and commented:

    One year ago today this was the challenge for Writing 101. And now I have to add that the Architect who was in my life for such a short time died on August 16th.
    Now I have to ask myself all the questions I asked when my Dashing Young Scotsman died and make it through to the stage where I can say that I can live my life without him and move on, never forgetting him but making a new life without him.

So what's on your mind?

