Writing 101: Be Brief

Friday came and went as did Saturday so now late afternoon on Sunday I am completing the Day 5 Challenge.

Day 5 and the challenge is:

You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

Well I wrote about a message on the pavement in an earlier post.  The message read:

I could write you a letter or sing you a song or I could just tell you
that I think of you all the time,

you are the air that I breathe and I love you.
I would have said yes if you had asked me.”

For many days following that I looked to see if there had been an answer to this poignant plea and then one day I came across this:

“I really do love you.  I will love you forever”and under that in a different hand was written

“I love you too.  If you marry me I will love you forever and ever until I die”. 

And then as a further postscript in the first hand was written “YES! YES! YES!”

So whether our lovers are young, mature, gay or heterosexual I am glad that they found each other, and trust that they are still enjoying a loving relationship.

proposal

161 words that must surely qualify as a brief post as mine usually run into hundreds of words.

7 responses to “Writing 101: Be Brief

  1. I love it. 🙂
    It is Sunday morning over here!

  2. Beautiful love story, Judith. 🙂

  3. What a great find to write about for your post.

So what's on your mind?

