Florence Day 2

London and Florence 062 I was woken up early this morning by the workmen who are digging up and (presumably) re-sealing the road outside the bedroom window.  This started around 7 am and now at 5pm they are still drilling.  Maybe they get paid by the hour.

That was followed by a long call on Skype to my partner in New Zealand.  Oh how very far away that is.

Then into the shower – another tepid one asI just can’t get the hot water to flow  Really have to do something about this.

Then Day 2 in Florence started. The sun was shining brightly and I was really pleased with myself :

  1. I found again the market that Ornella had shown me when I arrived on Sunday.  It’s a seven-day market apparently selling food and clothes.  It was very busy.
  2. I found a passticerria close by where I had a macchiato and a brioche for breakfast
  3. I got on the right autobus to take me to the stazione from where it was only a short walk to the Cathedral of Santa Maria Fiore (The Doumo)
  4. Found JK’s on the piazza for an elegant late lunch, then
  5. Found my way back again.

The woman at the bus stop spoke no English but we managed to communicate as I did with the two bus drivers.  It was a little more tense coming back because I had to look for something recognisable.  And it was the market.  So I jumped off the bus and almost got run over by a police car.  Many years ago I had a ticket for jay walking in Santa Monica, California and I really thought I might get another today.  But the policeman simply said “andare, andare” which I took to mean go!

Lunch at JK's Florence 2And lunch..  All the tables on the piazza were reserved but the charming maitre d’ (what is Italian for that)  suggested I might like to eat inside.  And what a joy that was.  There are several photos at the end of this missive.  It was like a beautiful home open for lunch and dinner.  I had sesame chicken salad, served with oil and balsamic vinegar, preceded by a basket of bread and  rolls and oil for dipping.  Heaven.  It was  rounded off with a pot of Twining s tea with lemon so my meal was a complete success.  I decided then that I wouldn’t need dinner just some fruit that I had bought yesterday and a couple of brioche from the same passticerria.  So I am all set.

Here are a few photos I took today.  I am sure you don’t need to see all 55 of them.

London and Florence 017London and Florence 012London and Florence 013At the market

London and Florence 019 London and Florence 048London and Florence 026The Duomo

London and Florence 057 London and Florence 058 London and Florence 059JK’s on the Piazza Duoumo

So another day in Florence comes to an end.  I shall sit and read my book as there is no English TV programme available here. Well maybe there is but not in this apartment.

31 responses to “Florence Day 2

  1. What a wonderful Day 2 Judith! I can only imagine how things will keep getting easier and easier and before you know it, you will feel right at home. 🙂

    • Thanks Dor. It’s strange but exciting to find your way around a city when you don’t speak the language. The other times I have been here we have been in a hotel close to everything and this time it is different. And of course, I am on my own, 🙂

  2. I always love Italian food, Judith. I can see you like it too. Thanks for including all these lovely photos. I am sure by the time your sister is going to join you you’ll know your way around and can show her everything. 🙂

    • Thanks again for commenting and cheering me on. Getting the bus there and finding the right stop to get off when I came back was quite a challenge. But hey I did it! Looking forward to my sister coming to stay soon. 🙂

  3. If the weather is fine, the Boboli Gardens are worth a visit. x

  4. Fantastic spot for lunch. Sounds like your days are unfolding well . . . except for the tepid showers.

    • Well after I sent an email to the owner in SF the next door neighbour came in and set the shower for me. So am about to try it before venturing out again today. who knows what I may see on my travels.

  5. I admire your sense of adventure. Just the stress of trying to find my way back to the apartment would’ve made me want to stay in! Florence is a beautiful place, though, judging by the photos you’ve shared!

    • Well Janna it was a trifle scary – the bus didn’t come back the way it went into town and so I had no markers but suddenly I saw the market and so knew where I was. Florence is most certainly beautiful, full of beautiful art and buildings. My kind of place indeed!

  6. Goodness, that sounds like a glorious day! Seriously, could it get any better–except for the policeman, maybe. I once had a similar close encounter in Phucket, Thailand. Long story.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Yes Kathy it was a great day. And I am about to go out and be a tourist for another day. Who knows what wonders I will discover today.
      Hugs from Florence. Judith

  7. I am living vicariously through you…I am not brave enough to do this myself!

    • Well I don’t know if it is bravery but now that I have been out a couple of times and yesterday I managed to find my way back again, I am feeling more comfortable about getting around.

  8. It sounds like you are having a marvelous adventure. I am so impressed at how you manage so well. Enjoy every minute!

  9. The Duomo is so elegant. And huge! Glad to hear you are finding your way around. Hope they get your shower fixed.

    • Hi Patti. Yes I loved the Duoumo. Today I ama going back to climb inside the dome. I didn’t know you could do that until I spoke with my partner this morning. And yes, the next door neighbour came in and explained the working of the shower – his English is totally limited as is my Italian. So am off to see if I understood what he was saying. 🙂

  10. You are an amazing woman, Judith! There’s got to be a book in all of this. I have a lot of backtracking to do to find out what you’ve been up to the last few months.

    • Thanks Susan. It’s been fun and scary at the same time. But having been here for a couple of days I now know where to get my morning coffee and brioche and the bus into town. So things are are looking good. Hope you are well.

  11. oh Judith, what a lovely place and lunch sounds just divine! Adventurous souls we are, truly! Busy on line today looking at house rentals!

    • Well Joss lunch was lovely but when I did the conversion I found I had paid $NZ49/$US40. So today I had a panini for lunch. I see/read how much you are enjoying your adventure too. Look forward to reading more about it as the days go by. And good luck with the house rental, 🙂

  12. Pingback: Florence Day 3 | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  13. It’s surprising how well we can communicate without the right language isn’t it? All you really need is a little confidence and a sense of humour. 🙂

  14. Glad the sun was shining for you – everything is better when the weather is on your side. What fun, I am envious. Joy

    • Yes it has been sunny for the past two days. Today, hot and muggy with some rain but hey, I am in Florence surrounded by all this beauty so why should I care?

  15. Pingback: Writing 101 : A Room with a View (or Just a View) | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

So what's on your mind?

