Where Did The Days Go?

I have just realized it is 14 days since I last wrote a blog post.  So where have all those days gone?

In the various courses that I run I always cover Habits and Attitudes.  We know that it takes 6 weeks for a habit to become almost automatic.  But we also know that it takes only a few days to break a habit.  So what happened to my blog-writing habit?  It was well ensconced for over a year.  If I didn’t make time for it during the day then I would certainly do something before I retired for the night.  But as with so many things, I said one day “Oh it wont matter if I don’t do it today.  I can miss one day.  I can do it tomorrow”.  Well tomorrow came and went, and all the succeeding tomorrows came and went too.  No excuse, no reason.

So apologies and here I am again.

Clown

With thanks to Nancy at Spirit Lights the Way for permission to use her photo.

Today I read a post from Nancy at Spirit Lights the Way.  The picture that accompanied the post made me laugh out loud.   I love clowns and always have since I was a little girl.  But I know that not everybody shares this love.  I do know that there is a phobia called Coulrophobia, a fear of clowns.  This is a very real fear and while there has been little scientific research into it a quick Internet search revealed 620 results. There are even websites dedicated to the subject, such as Ihateclowns.com, where coulrophobes gather to share their thoughts.

But moving back to Nancy’s clown with his laughing face, ridiculous clothes and cheery voice,  it came to me that the clown and his antics pretty much describe how life is for many of us.

When we are feeling down or dejected we put on our clown’s face.  We laugh and joke for our friends putting on what I describe as ‘our face for the public’.  Underneath we may not be smiling but we don’t want to impose our concerns and fears onto others.  Perhaps our nearest and dearest see through this act but the rest of the world buys it.  I remember in the awful weeks following my husband’s death, I wore my smiling clown’s face whenever I went out.  Many comments were received by my daughter on how well I was coping.  Oh really..

And it seems to be universally agreed that the clown is sad.  Reference the many songs about clowns, most of which tell a sad story.

  • Send in the Clowns
  • The Clown Song
  • Rodeo Clowns
  • The Tears of a Clown

And my favourite of these is of course, Send in the Clowns.  Many artists have performed it but I like this version.  Click here to hear Angela Lansbury aka Jessica Fletcher (another favourite) singing it.

But often, when life is back on an even keel and all is well with our world we are like the clown.  We laugh and sing and cavort, maybe even dress up in outlandish clothes to show the world how well we are doing.

Ronald McDonald

And probably the most famous clown of modern times is the ubiquitous Ronald McDonald.  As the face of the fast food giant we see him everywhere.  I bet he isn’t sad thinking about all the money his employer is making and hopefully sharing some with him.

Another rambling post but I do hope you got the gist of it.  The clown as a metaphor for life.

 

24 responses to “Where Did The Days Go?

  1. Send in Clowns lyrics and music one of my favorites too.

  2. “BANG !” That was the nail being hit smartly over the head. 🙂

  3. I’ve always found clowns a bit scary so I’m not sure I want to consider them a metaphor for life.

  4. Great insights, Judith. I love clowns in their BIG shoes and bright colored clothes. And I enjoy Clowning Around . . . but you’re right that acting the clown is sometimes a mask to keep others from seeing our pain.

  5. And then there are the rodeo clowns who put on a show while facing errant broncos and bulls…..they act funny and crazy but really are quite brave. Happy to see you again, Judith 🙂

  6. Funny. My Mom owned a Judy Collin’s album with the song “Send in the Clowns”. I remember hearing the song over and over again. I do enjoy Angela Lansbury, but my favorite version is Judy Collin’s version, because of the memory.
    I don’t dislike clowns, though sometimes I find them creepy.
    Good to see you again, Judith.

    • I used to play the Judy Collins version and then one day found Angela Lansbury singing it, so changed allegiance. I do understand that clowns could be felt to be creepy. Thanks for the comment Lenore.

  7. I missed you Judith! Glad you are back and I’m hoping the blogging habit will take hold again. I have always loved clowns too and never thought of them as sad until some of the songs and films provided other perspectives.

  8. Welcome back Judith… Clowns do serve a purpose don’t they? Sometimes happy, sad or sinister. 😉

  9. Christine in Los Angeles

    I’m glad everything is well, and I can stop bombarding you with emails.
    God bless, Christine

  10. It’s good to see you! Maybe you needed a vacation? 🙂 I’ve not thought much of clowns, one way or the other. My daughter was afraid of them when we took her to the circus. My sister-in-law was a member of a clown ministry that went to hospitals to visit patients.

  11. I am putting a rodeo clown in my next book. This was a great post.

  12. Sometimes other parts of life get busy, or we need a break. Either way, glad you’re back!

So what's on your mind?

