One Year On

 

“What a bargain grandchildren are!
I give them my loose change and they give me
a million dollars worth of pleasure.”
Gene Perret, American Comedy Writer

One of the reasons I started on my blogging journey was to record my thoughts and activities for my grandsons so they would know what the Granma was about in her later years.  One of things I love about blogging on an almost daily basis is that it gives me the ability to look back and clearly see what I was doing and thinking earlier.

Today, July 20 I looked back a whole year ago and discovered Happy Granma’s Day.  Did you read it when I was a very new blogger with few followers – here’s the link in case you didn’t.

Re reading this post made me smile.  What a lovely day we had all together.  The boys enjoyed it as much as their Granma did I am sure.

The patio is now completely finished of course, and looks totally different and I am so glad that I had the boys to help.

Three boys

Child labour?

Rob

Rob beavering away but can’t we afford shoes?

Two boys working

James and Jae

Lotte helping too

And four extra hands are welcome

The boys are all a year older.  The eldest is leaving school this year and going on to University, the others are all moving through their school journey.   All four of them are busy and active in a variety of sports, and some times, when they are playing close to home, I even get to watch.

I enjoyed this look back one year to experience once again that fabulous day.  Thank you boys for making it so special!

Thanks

“Our grandchildren accept us for ourselves,
without rebuke or effort to change us,
as no one in our entire lives has ever done,
not our parents, siblings, spouses,
friends – and hardly ever
our own grown children.
~Ruth Goode, author 1902-1997

 

16 responses to “One Year On

  1. When I hear “Grammpa” I realize I have finally grown up.

  2. I love that quote at the beginning! I’m definitely far from being a grandmother myself (way, WAAAY far), but I just recently got back from a trip home, and two of my three siblings have three children each! My stepsister and her bunch were visiting, too, and it’s so surreal seeing my parents in “grandparent mode.” They love it, and it brings out such a great facet of them, just like when I see the “dad” in my brother around his kids. And, of course, I got to visit my own grandmother, who did an amazing job of helping to raise me when I was “knee-high to a grasshopper,” and who now I can see as this spry, spunky little lady who’s great to talk to, and my grandfather (getting up there in years now) still tends a little garden since he can’t do the heavy farmwork any more, and he insisted on picking some radishes for me.

    Grandparents are such a blessing. Looks like you’ve got a good brood there!

  3. Looking back is always so fascinating. Things are always the same, yet different with time, and in your case, the grandchildren are your “pride and joy” and you theirs. How fortunate you are!

  4. I love the quotes. I have had many jobs but being a Grandmother has been the best. I too have four grandchildren. I don’t see them often but when I do it is so special and we always have fun. There is a connectioon that is unexplainable. The last quote says it all!

    • It’s a special connection we have with our grandchildren isn’t it. My live chose by but they are so very busy that I dont get to see them as often as I did when they were small.:)

  5. what a lovely look back. These are memories to cherish!

  6. I remember your post a year ago. I think it is wonderful your grand-kids helped with your porch. This is the good stuff, Judith.

  7. I can’t believe it’s been a year since your grandsons helped you with your patio. I didn’t realized Lotte helped, but I should have known she supervised. 🙂

  8. Doesn’t the time fly, I remember this post, but it really doesn’t seem like a year ago. Love the quotes, both of them. 🙂

So what's on your mind?

