Happy Independence Day

I do know that many if not all my American blogging buddies will write about Independence Day the celebrations and what the day means to them.  So what, I asked myself could I possibly add being an Englishwoman?  And I answered myself “Nothing”.

So I decided to look up the definition of Independence/Independent in my Colllins Dictionary, and saw that it gives 10 definitions.

Independence – n  the state or quality of being independent.

Independent – adj

  1. free from control in action, judgement etc; autonomous
  2. not dependent on anything else for function, validity etc; separate
  3. not reliant of the support, especially financial , of others
  4. capable of acting for oneself or on one’s own; a very independent little girl
  5. providing a large unearned sum towards one’s support (especially independent means, independent income)
  6. living on an unearned income
  7. Maths (of a system of equations) not all satisfied by the same set of values for the variables
  8. Logic (of two or more propositions) unrelated
  9. an independent person or thing
  10. a person who is not affiliated to or who acts independently of a political party.

Having followed many bloggers for a little over a year I can attest to the fact that most, if not all, are certainly free from control in action, not reliant on the support of others,  capable of acting for oneself and an independent person.

We all like and probably need support of others in our lives, but we can and often do manage without any.

So to my sister living in Los Angeles, my adopted sister in Virginia and all my other American blogging buddies

Happy 4th of July“You have to love a nation that celebrates its independence every July 4, not with a parade of guns, tanks, and soldiers who file by the White House in a show of strength and muscle, but with family picnics where kids throw Frisbees, the potato salad gets iffy, and the flies die from happiness.  You may think you have overeaten, but it is patriotism.” ~Erma Bombeck, 1927-1996

18 responses to “Happy Independence Day

  1. Hi Judith, Of course, I must comment today on your blog, so appropriate for us Americans. I celebrated 30 years of living in Paris on June 10th of this year, and yet this day is always a special AMERICAN one to me. I will “think fireworks” later this evening and share an American moment with my Franco-American 18-year old son. Thanks for thinking of America today and may our leaders have the wisdom to keep America great by embracing other nations and their ideals as well as our own. Kay

    • Hello Kay. Of course when I think of Americans I think of you my special friend. Enjoy your evening with Emile. I am thinking of you both on your special day. 🙂

  2. Nice 4th of July post. I didn’t post about the freedom today stands for because I figured everyone else would and they’d probably do it better 🙂 I like the Bombeck quote, by the way!

  3. Someone else used the Erma Bombeck quote, Judith. You have good taste. I like how you included the definition to the word ‘independence’. Franky, I think some Americans forget the meaning or the price paid to have the July 4th holiday.

    • Hi Lenore and thanks for the comment. Patti at pattisjarrett.wordpress.com also used the Biombeck quote.
      I don’t know about Americans but it is so easy to just take these special days as holidays without considering what went into achieving independence or agreement or whatever we are celebrating. 🙂

  4. Thank you, Judith, for the 4th of July wishes and the Erma Bombeck quote!

  5. Thanks Judith! I forgot to set of a cracker yesterday!

  6. It is interesting to read the different definitions of independent. As you mentioned, sometimes we forget the price paid for freedom. It does not usually come cheap. Thank you.

  7. Thanks Patti. U really like the definitions and hope that I also measure up as do you. 🙂

  8. Your “adopted sister in Virginia” loves you and your blog post. This Independence Day highlights the meaning as we have been trying to live independent of electricity and running water! So, with all the different definitions, I would choose Self Sufficiency as the most important for Independence Day 2012! 🙂

    • Hi Dor – I knew you would pick up on the ‘adopted’ sister comment. Thanks for this great comment.
      How did I miss that you were living independently of electricity and running water? Wow – that must take strength of will on both your parts. Love your new blog. Take care, 🙂

  9. Love the quote ! 🙂

  10. Love Erma’s quote. She was terrific. I still miss her.

So what's on your mind?

