Time for Trivia

2012 Olympics logo

If you live in the free world (or anywhere that has radio, television or the print media) you will know that in approximately 28 days the 2012 Olympic Games will commence in London.

But did you know some of these bits of trivia?

  • More than 200 structures had to be demolished before building could begin on Olympic Park in London’s East End.
  • 90% of material reclaimed from demolition within Olympic Park can be reused or recycled.
  • 1.3 million tonnes of soil at Olympic Park was washed to get rid of contamination.-
  • Around 900,000 items of sports equipment will be used during the Olympic Games.
  • 700 bird and bat boxes are being installed across Olympic Park to encourage rare species into the area.
  • Around 20,000 media and broadcasters will cover the Olympic Games.
  • McDonald’s will have four restaurants at Olympic Park the largest is 2,800 square metres  (approximately 30,140 sq feet) and will seat 1500 people.  It will be the largest in the world.
  • The oldest person in this year’s Olympic Games is 71-year-old Hiroshi Hoketsu who has qualified for Japan’s equestrian team.

So with this useless information you will surely beat all your friends
at Trivial Pursuit.

“My dear, here we must run as fast as we can, just to stay in place. And if you wish to go anywhere you must run twice as fast as that.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

24 responses to “Time for Trivia

  1. I have posted a link to this article on Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/tvaraj

  2. Wonderful, I love trivia. 🙂
    Washed soil, 700 bird and bat boxes and a 71 year old horse rider … conversation stoppers ! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the interesting trivia!

  4. I may have been spammed your blog so this is a test

  5. Interesting facts, Judith. Do you know if a lot of people were displaced by this demolition? Or had they already moved on to other areas?

    • The area was almost deserted. It had never recovered from the movement away of the industry that had been such a large part of the area during my growing years. I will write some more about it in a future post, perhaps today or tomorrow.

  6. Not to be a spoilsport but I really think they could have put all that money to better uses. And four McDonalds? Sad.

  7. Some interesting facts. Thanks for this. I do hope there will be some healthy eating places as well.

    • I haven’t seen anything about other eating places but I guess it’s the sheer size of the McDonald’s that has made it ‘newsworthy’. 🙂

  8. Thanks for sharing this, Judith. I’m not sure it’s trivia–sounds like important information to me, the environmentalist.

    • We are told that once the games are over the fixtures and fittings in the huge McDonalds will be reused or recycled. Let’s hope that’s true. 🙂

  9. I am looking forward to watching the Olympics. I love to see the Opening Ceremonies to see what wonders the host country has come up with.

  10. Marianne London UK

    As I only live 5 minutes from the Olympic Park I have seen it grow.I went on the tour when it was only just starting. Now it is very spectacular. Makes you proud to be part of it and a Londoner. Of course there will be some inconvenience because roads will be closed. But thats a small price to pay.
    Also my eldest Grandson is a security gaurd on there and he will be looking after the athletes as they arrive. XX

    • Hi little sister. I wish I could be there with you. It must be very exciting. and great for Ryan to see all the athletes close up. Enjoy it. I shall be watching from the other side of the world. XXX

  11. Christine in Los Angeles

    Oh, middle sister, just a sidenote — that equestrian is the oldest, so far, but did you know I’m on somone’s mailing list to buy equine gear? Yes, they’ve heard that I (at 75) may qualify for the Olympics. Hoping to move out of a one-bedroom apartment, to give Dobbin more room.
    God bless, Christine

    • Yes well there is not much room in your apartment for that four legged friend particularly if you do get that other one – you know the one for walkies. And I think you should take a deep breath before investing in equine gear (whatever that might be). It might only be a clothes horse. 🙂

  12. Christine in Los Angeles

    Y’know, your new little icon looks like someone doing the Olympic Ribbon Dance.But, it’s a great improvement over the crone, typing, with a pencil in her hair.
    God bless, Christine

    • Well I thought the crone said it all. Me sitting at my computer with glasses on and a pencil stuck behind my hair. thank you big sister for the comment. 🙂

So what's on your mind?

