The Bonnets – Lost

The taxi duly arrived and the two girls climbed into the back….

By now Daisie was exhausted with the music, the noise, the chatter and the dubious drinks she had consumed both at the party and at the nightclub.  She almost fell into the back of the taxi and immediately went to sleep.  This left Charlotte, who was rather the worse for drink (she had lost count of what and how many) to instruct the taxi driver to their destination.  Unfortunately, in her befuddled way she gave the driver the address of her house instead of Daisie’s.  Daisie slept through the ride only waking when Charlotte shook her as they arrived at their destination.

Charlotte paid the driver and walked rather unsteadily towards her front door with Daisie following sleepily.  The two girls entered the house and went to Charlotte’s room where they immediately fell asleep.

They were awakened the next morning by Charlotte’s mother who in turn had been awakened by Daisie’s mother who was worried when the girls hadn’t arrived home.  It had been too late to call when they arrived the night before and neither girl awoke early enough to put Juliet’s mind at ease.

After hurried breakfast Daisie departed to face her mother.  And it was then that she realised that the two bonnets they had borrowed from Maisie and her friends were missing.  Presumably still in the back of the taxi.  She was in a blue funk.**

Having unsuccessfully tried to locate the taxi and the missing bonnets, Daisie felt very low in spirits.  How was she going to tell her beloved grandmother Maisie that the two bonnets were missing?  She was not sure how she would take the news.  But, being a child of the 21st Century she decided there was nothing to do but to go and face her Grandmother and see whether together they could perhaps come up with a way of tracing the missing bonnets.

Photo thanks to Sallyann at Photographic Memories.
Click on the photo to go to Sallyann’s post.

** Note.  Thanks to Christine at Trudging Through Fog for pointing out that I had not used the word ‘blue’ in my post.  This sentence was added after that.

This is the fourth in the series about the bonnets.  If you haven’t read the earlier posts check the links – The Bonnets The Bonnets Part 2 The Bonnets Part 3.  It is also a continuation of the Hats Series.  Links to The Hats posts appear on each of the above three posts.

Trifecta tricycleAnd this last post fitted in well with Trifecta’s challenge this week and so this is my entry.  The challenge is to write an entry between 33 and 333 words using the third definition of the word BLUE (adjective) :
1  : of the color blue
2  a : bluish
b : discolored by or as if by bruising
c : bluish gray
3  a : low in spirits : melancholy
    b : marked by low spirits : depressing <a blue funk> <things looked blue>

If you want to try your hand at the challenge, you can find the complete guidelines on the Trifecta site by clicking the tricycle picture.

25 responses to “The Bonnets – Lost

  1. It just gets better and better, can’t wait until tomorrow post. 🙂

  2. Well Sallyann – these women and girls just write their own stories so I guess I shall have to go along with them. So once again – watch this space.

  3. I like to think there’s still a chance she can find the taxi and get the bonnets back 🙂

  4. This is very sweet, actually. I will have to go back and read the rest of the story! I like the idea of the bonnets as a connection to the grandmother.

    My only question is, I didn’t see that you used the word blue?

    • Thanks for dropping by Christine. I thought I had to use one of the definitions hence “low in spirits”. I shall have to go back and reread the instructions. And I shall now go over to see what you are up to.

      • Ah, yes – per the rules, you actually have to use the word in your piece, without changing it (“blue,” not “blues,” “bluer,” etc.). I did like that your piece embodied the sense of the word without mentioning it! I just wasn’t sure if it was deliberate. 🙂

  5. I had wished it to continue. I so wanted to know if she ever got the bonnets back. I personally feel they will – such beautiful stories always have beautiful endings 🙂

    • Thanks for coming by Ruby. I shall go over to your blog to learn something about you.
      The story was to end there but all these characters are buzzing around in my head and are clamouring to get out. So the story will be continuing and as we say, watch this space.

  6. The bonnets can symbolize so many things with same story flow.

  7. Bonnets. Head coverings, adornments, holders of secrets underneath… this is a wonderful “mine” for your stories. First time here, through Trifecta, and glad I found you! Peace and found bonnets, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/06/21/blue-babe-trifecta/

  8. Sweet take on the prompt. Thanks for linking up with us. We hope to see you back tomorrow for the new prompt.

  9. Imagine these two young girls having that much to drink! Typical 20th century story, isn’t it?

  10. Pingback: Cars | Photographic Memories

  11. Pingback: Found at last | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  12. Pingback: Hats and Bonnets | Photographic Memories

  13. Pingback: Keeping Promises | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  14. Pingback: I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  15. Pingback: Found at last | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

So what's on your mind?

