Five Facts on Frivolous Friday

I love Fridays – the end of the week and the weekend ahead – who wouldn’t like Fridays?

Indian vegan food

  • We discovered a new vegan restaurant today.  The owners are Indian and the food was scrumptious.  I don’t know the names of the dishes, but I ate a 7 vegetable dish, rice, soup, salad, hot carrot pickle, poppadums etc.  I left feeling pleasantly full.
    letter
  • I received a handwritten letter – yes not typed and not an email – from a friend today, whom I had not heard from for ages.  That was a real pick-me-up.
  • Lotte and I met new people and their dogs at the dog park today.  I love making new friends.

    Pile of books

    Just waiting to be read

  • I found a new author at the library today – well new to me.  This is a Swedish writer and though I have often seen his Detective Kurt Wallander in the series on television I haven’t read any of his books.  So I am looking forward to reading The White Lioness.
    Friday the cat
  • I have a friend with a large tom cat called Friday.  He is larger than Lotte and leaves her in no doubt who is in charge when we visit.  But Lotte just goes along with the flow and they seem to have come to some sort of understanding.

And so another less than memorable Friday hits the dust.  But the sun has been shining today even though it is still fairly cool.  Lotte has been exercising her lungs, barking at any and everything that moves in the street.

No sign of Andy yet.    I just know we are going to be great friends but I wonder where he is lurking.  Getting anxious about the little fellow.

 


Armadillos make affectionate pets, if you need affection that much.
William Jacob “Will” Cuppy (August 23, 1884 – September 19, 1949) was an American humorist and literary critic

17 responses to “Five Facts on Frivolous Friday

  1. Judith, you know Aunt ‘gette is getting anxious too. Do you have post deliveries on Saturday and Sunday in NZ? Just curious…I do hope he arrives by the weekend. They assured me at the post he would be going by air, not boat.
    He’s going to have such a wonderful time with you…good food, nice friends at the park and good reads.

    • Well Aunt ‘gette no sign today either. So will have to wait fro Monday. We are lookinmg forward to his coming – I hope he enjoys different foods and places and people. 🙂

  2. I love Fridays, too. It sounds like you have a lot of good things going on in your life. You’ve made me hungry with your list of foods from the vegan restaurant. Yum. A handwritten letter is a wonderful gift. Not many people do that anymore, and I have to confess, it’s been a while since I’ve handwritten a letter. I should do that, soon.

    • I always write part of my letters by hand to this particular friend in Toronto. She is into her 80s now and likes newsy letters – so part typed with our news. We have been friends since the late 60s whem we met in Montreal and have kept in (ir)regular touch ever since. 🙂

  3. I am glad that others still send handwritten letters too. Have a great weekend!

  4. Nothing like receiving a hand-written letter! Dinner sounds great. Hope Andy shows up soon.

  5. I like Fridays too.
    I haven’t received a hand written letter in a while … I haven’t sent one either mind. I have a school friend I write to now and again, I should send one soon. 🙂

  6. Had to laugh at the quote that ended your post! Happy for you getting a hand-written letter, what a treat!

  7. Pingback: It’s Six Word Saturday Again | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  8. sounds like a fabulous Friday to me! Here’s to many more days like this.

  9. Jackie Cangro

    Isn’t it wonderful to receive a handwritten letter? It’s so personal. I have a friend interested in creating a blog about paper and letters, trying to keep the spirit of this art form alive.
    Happy weekend to you!

So what's on your mind?

