What would you do?

Only when the last tree has died and the last river been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realise we cannot eat money.  ~Cree Indian Proverb

The slogan for the national lottery here is – “What would you do?.  What would you do if you won the big one.

Lotto logo

The two lotteries are – Big Wednesday and Lotto.  This week’s Lotto prize was won by a man from a very small town in the North Island of NZ – Te Kauwhata.  The population is around 1300 (yes thirteen hundred) and the winner of the $26 million plus prize is a check out operator in a local supermarket.  In today’s interview he said he would be back at work tomorrow but he would consider buying his first ever new car and perhaps a house.

Hopefully, NZ Lotteries Commission will help this young man manage this enormous amount of money.  We have heard stories from all around the world of major winners losing or spending all the money within a few years.Big Wednesday logo

Every week, Big Wednesday gives players the chance to win:

  • $2 million cash; and
  • a Lamborghini Gallardo LP560-4; and;
  • an Audi Q7 3.0 TDI S line; and
  • a Rayglass 2200 Boat; and
  • a $675,000 cash prize towards a holiday home; and
  • a Visa Platinum Card loaded with $50,000; and
  • a $50,000 cash prize towards travel.

Every week that Big Wednesday First division isn’t struck, more cash is added until the ultimate lifestyle package is won or until the combined value of the luxury prizes and the cash jackpot reaches a combined total of $30 million.

The prize hasn’t been won for a few weeks it would be quite a prize.

Mega Millions sign

But of course this pales into insignificance when compared to the latest Mega Millions Jackpot.  We are told that 3 jackpot winners in the Friday, March 30, 2012 Mega Millions drawing: 1 from Illinois, 1 from Kansas, and 1 from Maryland.  The winners will equally share the $656 million jackpot prize.

I really hope that if my sister wasn’t one of the three lucky winners, one or more of my blogging friends was.  So what would you do if you won big?

And what do you think about these insanely huge amounts being won?  There is talk here of limiting the amounts to be won – and here in NZ we don’t pay tax on lottery winnings.  Does anyone really need $26 million, $30 million or heaven forbid $218 million.  Imagine what our local health or education boards could do with these sums.

And just because I like it so much here is the link to the lottery advert that took New Zealand by storm and gave us all  new hero  Wilson the Lotto Dog- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fER-WhFUzoA.


It’s good to have money and the things that money can buy, but it’s good, too, to check up once in a while and make sure that you haven’t lost the things that money can’t buy.
George Horace Lorimer, American journalist and author 1867-1937

 

 

17 responses to “What would you do?

  1. It seems very ironic that all this cash is being given away at the same time as most developed countries are feeling the pinch in their economy, even recession and bankruptcy in some, and we see TV footage of children starving in Africa. Like you, I hope this latest winner gets some sensible advice on how to manage his winnings – but the distribution of wealth just never seems to be fair.

    • He seems a very sensible young man but I wonder now having told the world he won, how many of his ‘friends’ will suddenly come out of the woodwork.

  2. When the lottery first came out here it was just on a Saturday and I didn’t do it, then it changed to Saturday and Wednesday and I still didn’t do it …
    I have a guaranteed £104 every year from the lottery … by not doing it twice a week. 🙂

    • Good for you Sallyann. I do buy the lottery ticket on occasion but so far have given them so much more than they have given me. A girl can dream!

  3. I can’t imagine that much money, let alone what to do with it. My needs are small, although I wouldn’t mind putting the addition on my home that my husband and I have talked about (our house is small and we’ve found we need just a little bit more room). After spending a small amount on that, I’d probably save some for retirement and give away the rest.

  4. I’ve read/seen over and over that the lives of most big lottery winners go downhill after winning. It’s almost impossible for a normal person to deal with that much money. The ones who do best are those who make small changes in their lives but who remain grounded. I’d set a very small amount aside, then use almost everything to start a charitible foundation. That would be the ultimate kick for me.

    • This young man, I think he is 32, seems to be grounded but as he is now a very eligible bachelor I wonder how soon it will be before there is an influx of grabbing women into the small community.
      As I said above I would love to be in a position to give a huge amount to Mary Potter Hospice.

    • I’m with Renee. If I won $218 million . . . $217 million would be used for a charitable foundation.

      I already have enough for most of my needs . . .

      • Yes as I said in response to Robin I would love to be able to give a huge amount to my favourite charity Mary Potter Hospice. 🙂

  5. Jackie Cangro

    I had my Mega Millions ticket, Judith, but sadly i didn’t win. Though I think this would be a problem I wouldn’t mind having… 🙂

  6. I’d travel the world and meet all my blogging friends!

  7. If you don’t have a ticket you can’t dream.
    Dreaming is good.
    Am convinced the lottery in this country is rigged.
    Everything else is.

    • I read your posts with great interest. It does appear that your politicians are particularly venal.
      Yesterday’s news was that our newest millionaire didn’t turn up for his 5am shift at the supermarket yesterday – how very strange!

  8. Pingback: Dino Dinero sa Ingglatero | YLBnoel's Blog

So what's on your mind?

