Hunches, Ideas, Intuition et al

” Trust your hunches.  Hunches are usually
based on facts filed away just below
the conscious level”
Dr Joyce Brothers

Our subconscious is most often way ahead of our conscious thoughts and ideas.  Many ideas come to us unexpectedly and usually without any anchor or any reason.  Hunches are the same.  A hunch makes us cut out an item from the newspaper.  We may not know why it must be kept and  we probably do nothing with it for days or weeks until an idea springs into our head and then we remember that cutting and know that we can use it.  ( I have a file in which I put cuttings, items etc that I think may someday be of use).

Sometimes we hear part of a conversation and it sticks in our head just waiting for the write right time to use it as a basis of an article or story or even a blog post.  A turn of phrase, a particular laugh, or a comment on a TV show can lodge in our subconscious just waiting for the right time for it to blossom into our conscious thought.  These are written in my notebook for future use or reference.

For me, night time is a particularly fertile time for ideas and thoughts and so I always have my trusty notebook and pencil at the side of the bed.  It is interesting to note that I always write in pencil in my notebook.

Occasionally I wake up in the middle of the night and know that if I don’t jot down that thought it will be lost to me when I awaken in the morning. Maybe I have a particular dream that could form the basis of an article or story.  A particularly appealing idea may form and cannot be allowed to drift away.

And so I have a collection of notebooks (some with writing that only I can decipher having been written when I have been more asleep than awake).  Many of the jottings are from unknown sources, but when I am in the dreaded  void and need inspiration for my writing I can spend time reading through the notebooks and then usually come up with an idea and a reason to write.

So I listen to my hunches and my intuition and tap into the deep well of memory.  This is where those hunches, thoughts and ideas mostly reside.

“Oh you get s many hunches
that you don’t know even quite
if the right hunch is the wrong hunch
then the wrong hunch might be right!”
from “Hunches in Bunches” Dr Seuss

16 responses to “Hunches, Ideas, Intuition et al

  1. My super fertile time is in the morning! It’s usually really early like 6am! 🙂

  2. Did I already say it was good to have you back? I had a hunch I did – but I wanted to be certain.

  3. I do the same thing. Carry a notebook around, have one beside my bed.

  4. Oh, I love the idea of having “Hunch Books” and I plan to start that right away. It will be so much more organized than just jotting down thoughts on various scraps of paper and then trying to find them scattered all over the place. As always, you are an inspiration Judith.

  5. I never leave home without my notebook. I write all manner of things in there – a good book a friend suggests, a snippet of conversation I overhear on the subway or a tip on how to get pen stains out of my shirt. 😛

  6. Great idea. I carry a notebook with me during the day, but I don’t have one by the bed yet. Right now, when something comes to me, I decide if I really want to get out of bed or let it go.

    • From a very early age I have carried a notebook with me and for many years have kept one beside the bed. Only last night as I was drifting off to sleep I heard a comment on the radio and so made a note for another blog. Thanks for the comment.

  7. Great post Judith. I do listen to my intuition and even though I sometimes go against it, it is never wrong. 😉

  8. It is always fun when something that you put away for later comes back to you and “clicks.” I am afraid I will never get enough clicks to catch up with all that I have put away for later use though. Thanks, Judith!

    • Sometimes when I am staring into the void with no idea of what to write about I have a sudden memory of something and then I have to hunt through the books to find what I am looking for. Time passes while I do this and occasionally I find something else to use that I prefer. Thanks for the comment. 😀

So what's on your mind?

