Better to write

“Better to write for yourself and have no public, than to write for the public and have no self.” ― Cyril Connolly

I came across this quote the other day and thought how much I agreed with it.  Just as some people, particularly children, like to sing I like to write.

I have many notebooks filled with my writing and often it is work that has never been seen by anybody else.  The joy in much of this writing was just to get it down on a page.

Notebook and pen

Of course, with the advent of at least one computer in every home, writing has become easier.  Well the physical act of writing.  No more putting pen to paper but instead sitting at a keyboard and letting the words pour forth.  On a good day that is.

But like all writers, whether well known or like me just writing for the pleasure of writing, we know what it is like to step up to the page aka computer screen to be faced with a blank sheet.  No thoughts on anything.  Blank screen and a blank mind.  But then something comes and the void is filled.

As writers we are vulnerable.  We write about what matters to us and expose ourselves and unveil our deepest feelings.  Our words reveal much about us and our truths.  And sometimes, because of this, writing feels dangerous.  But this is what keeps us (well me at any rate) coming back to the screen/notebook/page.  The need to share my feelings on the page with others (hopefully) or just with myself when necessary.  It is scary and often I am looking for excuses – the dishes must be done, the washing hung out etc etc, but I keep coming back to the page.

At times we feel the need to judge, to edit our writing.  We strive for perfectionism but we know, unless we are one of the great writers, that perfectionism is out of reach.  Lord Marks of Marks & Spencer fame said “The price of perfection is too great.  Close enough is good enough.”

But I do love it that people are following my blog and commenting.  Thank you for caring.

“And as the water continues in its downhill rush over rocks
and  the thoughts continue to tumble around in my brain
with no defined pattern or path,
they eventually find and settle into a safe place
and the void is suddenly filled
and my mind is active once again.”

Waterfall

18 responses to “Better to write

  1. An “inner voice” prompted me to begin writing regularly and blogging seemed to provide the perfect vehicle. Then some readers turned up and left comments and that was very motivating and still is. And of course there are fellow bloggers to read and who provide further stimulation for more writing:-)

    Hope that bone is healing nicely Judith.

    • Hi Lynley. Thanks for the comment. Yes the readers and those who comment on our blogs certainly are reasons to keep on writing. Happy New Year. 🙂

  2. … worth waiting for. 🙂

  3. well said. Exposing ourselves seems to be the watchword, at least for women, in 2012. We will all heal and rejoice together. Walk in beauty.

  4. I’m so glad you keep coming back. I very much enjoy your blog and reading what you have to say.

  5. Well-articulated and well-crafted post. It is your elegant use of language that keeps me coming back.

  6. I think it is your vulnerability and the skill with which you write about it that keeps me reading. Your honesty shines through, too, as in the post about the scam woman who climbed into your car, and how you’ve learned to accept help while wearing a cast. Now that I think about it, I guess it’s our vulnerability that brings us all together in this blogworld format. Our common thread.

    I hope you will choose to continue to write. If you’ll write, I’ll read! 🙂

    • Thank you for the lovely comment Pat. We are are vulnerable in some way and it has taken this dam..d cast to bring it home to me. Thanks for reading and commenting – I shall continue to write.:)

  7. I like your closing poem. It describes the writer and/or artist so well. It would appear that you are back to your computer. 🙂

  8. I love that first quote….it keeps me going some days. And reading your blog is always a pleasure…….thanks Judith.

  9. I also like the opening quote. It is nice (okay, lots of fun) to have the interaction with comments, but it is important to not let that drive my writing.

    Close enough is good enough….I like that one, too 🙂

  10. Yes comments do brighten my day as I know then that somebody is reading what I write. Thanks for the comment and the price of perfection is sometimes/often too great. Let’s just write! 🙂

So what's on your mind?

