One of these days

“One Of These Days
When We Both Are At Our Ease
When You’ve Got Time To Please Yourself
See What’s Right And See What’s There
And Breathe Fresh Air, Ever After”
Paul McCartney sings – One of these days

How often do we say “One of these days I will. …whatever”? or “When I get around to it”?  Well I want to tell you that today should be ‘one of these days”.  None of us know how many more days there are to do whatever we think we want to do.  As someone who was left without ‘one of these days’ I now feel the loss of those days.  We were fortunate in that there weren’t  any things unsaid or undone between us when my husband died, but there cannot be anymore ‘one of these days’.

Do you have a bucket list with all the things you think you want to do before you die?  But have you thought of all the smaller things that maybe you should do?

  • Have your told your spouse/partner how much they mean to you and how much you appreciate their just being there for you?  – What if tomorrow never comes will they know how much they mean to you?
  • Have you told your children how proud of them you are ?
  • Have you told them how much you love them?
  • Have you told them no matter what they do you will still love them?
  • Have you thanked your parents for your childhood?  I know some people had awful childhoods so delete this question if it doesn’t apply to you.
  • Have you told those special friends how much you appreciate their support?
  • Have you thanked your children’s spouses for the love and care they have shown to your children?
  • Have you told your grandchildren that if you had to choose you would choose them?

So often we attend funerals ( and we attend so many more when you reach this  vast number of years)  and hear great eulogies about how wonderful the dead person was.  How many people told that person of their love and respect while they were still alive and could appreciate it?  Wouldn’t it make so much more sense to do so?

So determine that from today you wont put off doing these small things and here for you today is a round tuit.

A Round Tuit

So now you have no excuse for putting anything off until ‘one of these days’ or ‘when I get a round tuit’.  You now have one!  Use it as often as you like.  It can never be over used or worn out.

So today look at the list of things you want to say to others, look at what you might regret if you don’t do so before that special person dies, and as the ad says ‘Just Do It!”

And for me – I want to say thank you to all who follow and read my blogs.  It has been something to do ‘one of these days’ .  Well today is the day so thank you.

Thanks

“On behalf of all the people who have assembled here
I would merely like to mention, if I may
That our unanimous attitude
Is one of lasting gratitude
For what our friends have done for us today
And therefore I would simply like to say
Thank you very much, thank you very much
That’s the nicest thing that anyone’s ever done for me.”  From Scrooge the musical

24 responses to “One of these days

  1. Food for thought! Someone really needed to tell us this because we just tend to forget! Thank u Judith and may i add and not postpone to “one of these days”, that you are a great writer, i love what you write, please don’t stop writing. Thank you!

  2. This is a lovely reminder, Judith! Jim and I always tell each other “I love you,” before parting…

    Wendy

    • Hi Wendy – you never know how many days you have left. So make the most of them and be sure to tell Jim just how much he means to you. Thanks for the comment.

  3. jacquelincangro

    Truer words were never spoken, Judith. It’s easy to put off til tomorrow what we mean to do today. I wonder why we do this. Are we embarrassed? Fearful? Fatalistic in some way? I don’t know the answer, but thank you for the reminder.

    • Thanks Jacquelin. I have had conversations with clients in my life coaching business who were upset, to put it mildly, that they hadn’t said all they felt before the person died. As a family, we were lucky that there were no unaddressed issues, but we all learned a good lesson when my husband died.

  4. Good reminder, Judith. I actually do all those things you mentioned but the last one. I’ve been meaning to start writing my granddaughters every week, but I haven’t done it. I don’t known what I’m waiting for. I think I’ll take your advice. Thanks.

    • Hi Susan. It is too easy to get caught up in the day to day things in our life so that we can forget some of the important things. Your granddaughters will love to hear from Granma on a regular basis even if it isn’t every week. You still have that novel to complete.

  5. I’m big on the “I love you” thing. My kids know that it’s the way we end all conversations, even if the conversation is five seconds long. Now Husband and I tell each other all the time. I do the same with several friends. If the worst occurs to me, I want everyone’s last memory to be hearing me say “I love you” to them.

    • Hi Renee. How come you are so knowledgeable at such a young age?
      We always finish any conversation with “I love you” and have always kissed each other when we arrive and leave.
      My abiding memory of my husband is his last words to me “I love you. Goodbye”. And now I am sitting here typing with tears in my eyes.

  6. I’m with Susan, I’ve been meaning to keep in (better) contact with the grandkids, maybe sending a letter to be read to the family. Thanks for the round tuit, I may now get it done.

  7. What wonderful advice Judith. It’s kind of like smiling. Sometimes it’s hard to do, but when you finally get around to it, the day gets brighter. We all get so bogged down in daily details, it’s easy to postpone the important stuff like thanking others and telling them how much we love and appreciate them. Your blog, so beautifully written, is a terrific reminder.

    • Dor, thank you for the lovey comment. It is so easy to get “bogged down in daily details” that we can easily forget the important things.
      Years ago, before cheap phone calls and emails, I wrote to my parents thanking them for the great childhood they had given us. I am sure they loved receiving the letter and loved giving the thanks too.

  8. Thank you for this timely reminder Judith… You are so right, we get so bogged down in menial things that we forget the really important ones. And since we just don’t know what’s around the corner, we’d better not wait or it might be too late.

    • The temporary nature of life was brought home to me in an awful way the day my husband died. So I encourage everybody to take the time to let your friends and family know just how much they mean to you. Thanks for the comment.

  9. Judith …love it and FB it! So that others can also love it!

  10. So thought provoking, inspirational and motivating. Thank you.

  11. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Wow, it’s been a while since I came by, Judith … I don’t know why!

    This is a great post, truly is. I’ve heard of that ‘Round Tuit’ – still makes me smile 🙂

    You’re so right, so right. Later, later, laters… Not good enough. Because you just might die sooner. I mean, no-one knows their day of death or how it will happen. We’ve really got to Get Tuit now.

    Inspiring, & timely : thank you.

    • Welcome back and thanks for the comment. Yes we all fall into the trap of tomorrow or later but sometimes there is no tomorrow. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  12. Hand on heart, I can probably say yes to all your questions, Judith. The “people” stuff I’m quite demonstrative with. Don’t do so well with the more practical things and fitting it all in though. Lovely post. God bless!

So what's on your mind?

