Memories

Words - memories

Our memories may be happy or sad, joyful or tearful or just plain funny.  Sometimes they are of earth shattering moment – I clearly remember when Neil Armstrong walked on the moon.  On July 20th 1969 I was sitting in the Holiday Inn at Dorval in Montreal and I watched spellbound as man walked onto the moon.

I remember the day Jack Kennedy was shot in Dallas and I was living in Scotland; and then the horror of his brother Bobby Kennedy being gunned down in Los Angeles in 1968.  At that time I was living in Auckland, New Zealand.

Bride

Daughter-in-law

Bride - Cate

Daughter Cate

Memories may be of such momentous events, or a special event in our lives; a wedding, birth of first child or grandchild, or even the unimaginable death of a loved one, but mostly our memories are of our everyday life and this is what we need to record and preserve.  What happened to us and how our lives have been changed by what has happened.

My father told me I could be and do anything I wanted.  That has had a profound effect on my life and how I have lived it.  Many memories are of Father and his influence.

And getting back to everyday activities.  A visit to a friend, spending time with a friend’s dog, a walk in the park, meeting new people and making new friends, moving to a new country.  All of these are worthy of recording.

So I encourage you all to make memories every day and to record them in whatever form best suits you.  Your blog is a good place to start or as I have a Memory Book.  This will be left for my grandchildren so that after I am no longer with them, they will have some idea about the life of their grandmother and grandfather.

” To live in lives we leave behind is not to die”
Judith Baxter 1938 –


 

 

 

10 responses to “Memories

  1. Yes, this is definitely something on my heart, I want the future generations to know us. Lovely brides. How different our upbringing, to be told you could be and do anything you wanted. But we play out the hand we’re dealt, and I believe it works together for good. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Judith. I always enjoy reading them.

    • Yes, we play out the hand we have been dealt and as I have said before, I have been blessed both with my Father who encouraged us to be and do anything we wanted and then with my very supportive husband of 41 years. I ran a course on writing your memories for future generations. It was well received and I may think of resurrecting it again sometime. Thanks for the encouragement as always Patti. 🙂

  2. Thanks, Judith. That was a wonderful post and one of many of your beautiful quotes!

  3. Great post, Judith. I hold all my memories very dear. I don’t have anyone to pass them on to, but I do have a whole collection of audio tapes that I recorded of my father’s memoirs that I can listen to whenever I want. It took some persuading but he eventually agreed on the proviso that it was only for my sister and I.

    • How lovely to have that collection of tapes. Sometimes we are so busy living day to day that we forget to record our memories. Even if we don’t have anyone to pass them to it is important (I think) to save them to look back on..

  4. What better reason to blog than to preserve memories? Love it.

  5. Beautiful post… Memories are precious gifts to help us hold steady during a storm and celebrate during good times… Loved the pictures too. 🙂

So what's on your mind?

