The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari

“She told me the best time to plant
a tree was 40 years ago.

The second best time is today.
Don’t waste even one minute of your day”
Robin Sharma from
The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari.

You may know that I have been reading books and acquiring knowledge on Personal Development for many years (since I was a young wife and mother with time on my hands).  I run courses on the subject and I have a library of books from many of the greats in the field including Zig Ziglar, Wayne Dyer, Jack Canfield, Louise Hay, Debbie Ford, Bob Procter and Deepak Chopra.  Amongst the books I have read time and again, is this one by Robin Sharma.  

Book

The book tells the story of a lawyer, Julian Mantle, who is forced to confront his life choices after an almost fatal heart attack while appearing at a trial.  His physical collapse makes him look closely at his life and how out of balance it is.  He has been busy collecting the trappings of life without considering the consequences of his lifestyle to both his health and his spirit.

He decides to look for happiness and fulfillment and determines that this will/can be found in India.  The book follows his ‘odyssey’ as Mantle describes it to a younger lawyer.

While it is told as a fable about a spiritual journey it’s based on Sharma’s own search for “life’s true purpose”.  We are shown how  encouraged to stop acquiring things and instead, to embrace destiny, live life to the full and discover joy.  On his journey Mantle meets with a group of Himalayan gurus and through them and his sojourn with them, discovers a powerful system to release the potential in him – mind, body and soul.  He learns to live with greater purpose, passion and peace.

In the book Julian Mantle learns to:

  • Develop joyful thoughts
  • Cultivate self-discipline
  • Value time
  • Nourish relationships

In turn, he learns to live fully one day at a time.  These things are what he wants to share with us, or at least those who will listen.

This may be a fable but it is worth reading because of the insights it gives as to what is wrong with consumerism and the relentless search for things.

If you have the chance, pick up a copy at your local library.

“The Constitution only guarantees the
American people the right
to pursue happiness.
You have to catch it yourself. ”
Author unknown, often attributed to
Benjamin Franklin

21 responses to “The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari

  1. Thanks for the lead on this Judith..I went to my iBooks and got it immediately!!

  2. Pingback: The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari | I choose how I will spend the rest of … | HappyTipsDaily

  3. Pingback: Follow Your Star « Spirit Lights The Way

  4. Aah . . . sounds like my wake up call. With me it was a tumor, not a heart attack, that caused me to evaluate my life and who I really wanted to be.

    The result was the same. A re-cognition that happiness is never in things, it is in us.

    Thanks, Judith!

  5. Hi Nancy – Mine was when my husband died suddenly some 13 plus years ago and then 2 years later when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Every day is special and I try to make it so. And things – well have downsized in a major fashion quite recently I KNOW that happiness is not in things. As you say it is inside us.

  6. jacquelincangro

    I hadn’t heard of this book, but I’m going to look for it in my local store. It sounds right up my alley. Have you read The Alchemist by Paolo Coehlo? It’s a simple fable and has many similar lessons. I try to reread it every so often to remind myself about what is really important in life.

  7. It’s odd how it often takes a life-or-death situation to get us to change our ways. I’ve made a conscious choice not to climb the corporate ladder because I like going home. I may not make the ‘big bucks’ but my life is full.

    • Good decision Janna. I remember quite a while before he died that my husband made a comment – Oh I missed that – when the children and I were reminiscing about an incident early on in our years in New Zealand. Climbing the corporate ladder seemed to be the thing to do then. 🙂

  8. What a blessing if those things can be learned at a younger age, Judith.

  9. suppose similar to Herman Hesse’s Sidhartha.

  10. Oh yes Carl. On reading The Monk I couldn’t remember what other book it reminded me of. Thanks for the memory jogger. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Positive Thinking, Positive Attitude, Anywhere It Works | Motivational Thoughts

  12. Thanks for the book suggestion. I’ll be sure to check it out!

  13. It is a good read… Thank you! 🙂

  14. Pingback: Simplicity for Harmony – The Monk Who Sold his Ferrari by Robin Sharma | Write. Read. Ponder…

  15. Reblogged this on I choose how I will spend the rest of my life and commented:

    Looking for inspiration, I came across this post from way back in 2011 shortly after I started on my blogging journey.
    I reread the book and as usual, got more from it on second reading. It’s funny how often that happens.
    I recognised that yes, in the years since I first read the book, I have been guilty at times of acquiring things; recently I have been disposing of many. But I have also been working on
    * Nourishing relationships
    * Cultivating self-discipline
    * Developing joyful thoughts and
    * Valuing time.

So what's on your mind?

