The time Vortex

Do you sometimes wonder where the day has gone and what has been achieved.  We all have so many things on our To Do Lists that often it becomes overwhelming.

Even when I sit down to write I get waylaid by reading other people’s blogs, comments on my own blogs (please don’t stop sending them, I love to hear from you) millions (a slight exaggeration) of emails that must be read and answered, material to prepare for courses I run and then my blogs.  And it does become somewhat overwhelming at times.  Oh and I forgot to mention that one of the courses I run is on time management.  Physician heal thyself.  Ha ha!

I confess, sometimes often I just sit down with a cup of coffee and say “To hang with it.  I’m having some time for me”.  But that just sets me further back on my To Do List.

Before I started blogging and very occasionally since, I have written articles that have been published by ezinearticles.com (please forgive the self publicizing).

This is a great site for novice writers, as I was, and I regularly get Newsletters full of useful tips.

Ezine Article cartoon

Source: Ezine Articles

Today’s Newsletter was on how to concentrate on one thing and get it done.  Here is the link to the blog post.

Now I just have to take this advice on board and write some more articles, but not before I get my blog posts out each day.

OMG sorry, yet another post on writing.

Manual typewriter

It is necessary to write, if the days are not to slip emptily by.  How else, indeed, to clap the net over the butterfly of the moment?  For the moment passes, it is forgotten; the mood is gone; life itself is gone.  That is where the writer scores over his fellows:  he catches the changes of his mind on the hop.
Vita Sackville-West
, English author, poet and gardener 1892-1962 – one of my favourites.

Vita Sackville-West plaque

 

 

17 responses to “The time Vortex

  1. My time dissappears too, I seem to be doing lots, but not achieving much so I’ve set myself a task to achieve just one thing each day, anything else is a bonus. 🙂

  2. It does seem at the end of the day that I am exhausted with nothing to show for it. I tell myself that reading and commenting on blogs is keeping my brain from atrophying.

  3. Time is our most valuable and irreplaceable commodity ~ a bank account which mandates daily withdrawals, prohibits deposits, and pays dividends when we spend it wisely.

    If you’re interested:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/time-is-relative/

  4. Boy, I know how you’re feeling. Many times with work and my side projects and writing/reading blog posts, FB, etc, etc, etc I get overwhelmed. I think I need to be better disciplined about prioritizing my time. But then it often feels like there is no freedom to just have fun and be spontaneous. I’m looking forward to reading your Ezine articles.

    • Well the ezine articles have been moved to one side for the present. Too many other time swallowing things to do at present. Off for a walk around Brooklyn now. 🙂

  5. I can so relate…I got much more done when I was a non-blogger. I keep telling myself one hour on the computer and no more! So far I haven’t listened at all!

  6. I like the quote you closed with. There is a lot to be said for writing (or other creative pursuit) when the ideas are flowing. Sometimes it helps to take a break and let the mind focus on something else for awhile. Thanks for sharing the blog article/post.

    • Today I have left all writing alone as I prepare for a course I am running starting on Monday. And now I have returned to write today’s blog and have an absolutely blank mind and computer screen. Can only think of next week. Oh dear. Coffee and then dinner are calling.

  7. Parents with young kids need 32 hour days and single parents need 48 hour days.

  8. I think time goes to the same place as the lost socks. I used to think the washing machine ate the socks, but now I’m thinking they might see time running off somewhere and they follow. 😉

So what's on your mind?

